Skip to content

How did it all start?

March 12, 2012

The year before I turned 50 I began running with my friend, Bonnie who had just turned 50.   I should also mention that a year or so earlier I weighed about 175 pounds on a 5/3″ frame…I had gone to Weight Watchers and lost about 30 pounds.  I had been going to the gym 3 days a week, and my oldest daughter talked me into a 5K a week before her first marathon.  That started me on the road to running…enter Bonnie…

Bonnie and I  wanted to challenge ourselves, and not give in to letting time an gravity take over, do more than the 3 days a week at the gym.

Bonnie and I before the race

We began running,  and decided to run a few 5Ks. When I say run…well in the beginning that meant; run a little, walk a lot.  Gradually increasing the run times.  We ran a few, had fun, finished clean up (last, well not really, but, close).  Both of our daughters were running marathons, and Bonnie’s daughter was reading Marathon for Mortals.  I picked up the book and read it and thought I might be able to do this.  I asked Bonnie what she thought.  So we decided to train together to do a half-marathon.

We picked a half marathon that was almost a year away and slowly began to train.  I really liked the training plans in the Marathon for Mortals book, especially the run/walk plan.  The year went quickly and we had so much fun running together.

The half-marathon went well, we each ran our own race, she beat me…I really did not fuel well and ran out of gas at mile 11.5…limped to the finish line.  I cried as I crossed the finish line, I still get choked up when I think about it.  I NEVER thought I could do something like that.  What a thrill.

Heading for the finish

Before we even ran the first half  we had signed up for two more one in the winter, and one in the spring.  We were excited!!!

That excitement crashed the week following, Bonnie was diagnosed with Breast Cancer.  That nearly took the wind out of our sails.  But, Bonnie is one of the strongest women I know.  After her surgery she began chemo, but we kept running, little bits, and she ran the winter half-marathon with me, between chemo treatments.  Then the other half during her radiation.  She is an amazing inspiration!  We both keep running, but she has moved to another town and we don’t get to run together anymore.

Skip ahead a few years and enter my husband.  My husband John has always gone to the gym with me faithfully 3 days a week.   Last winter (2011) his work sponsored a Biggest Looser, which he took part in.   He was inspired to train for and participate in a triathlon.  That was all I needed to spur me to do the same.

I trained for the Title 9 sprint held in Hopkinton, MA in September.  What fun I had!!!  I loved training for the tri.  I love the variety of activities, swim, bike, and run.  I used my hybrid bike which served me well, but I was so hooked I bought a new bike!

Getting set up before the race

Beginning the 5K

Here is my new ride!! I love it!!

my new ride!!!! Trek Lexa

My husband and I have signed up for two sprints this coming summer!  So this blog will be my chronicle of my training.  Hope you will follow along.

Cindy

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2012 8:05 pm

    YOU ROCK! Thanks for finding my page. I’m almost fifty and am just starting to get healthy again! I’m totally following you!

  2. March 14, 2012 10:32 pm

    What a great story! Very inspiring… I’m 48 and decided it was time to get healthy and fit before 50. I chose the Dukan Diet, because I read all the other books and programs and found it to be the healthiest and the one program that was with you for the long run. It’s a life style change vs. a diet. I’ve now lost 77 pounds on it and only have 13 left to hit my goal weight.
    I was chatting on line with a fellow blogger about my running, I’m doing Couch to 2 5K and he suggested that I consider possibly training for a triathlon… I laughed, since the word “run” wasn’t even in my vocabulary 7 months ago… but now, after reading your blog, I’m thinking it might be doable!

    • March 15, 2012 1:18 am

      A sprint triathlon is totally doable! I love the training because of the variety! Looking forward to hearing about your 5k!

  3. May 10, 2012 12:31 am

    I love that you are doing tri’s…. I’ve been wondering what I should aim for and this idea keeps coming up…I love to swim and I’ve begun running and of course I have a bike. Do you have a book you liked on getting started? I am at ground zero for knowledge about triathlons.
    *anna

    • May 10, 2012 4:44 pm

      There is a great web site called Beginner Triathlete, lots of articles, training plans and such. I have found lots of help there. Start with a Sprint, usually a quarter mile swim, 10-15 mile bike and a 5k, if you like and are able you can move on to other distances. Good luck! It is a lot of fun!

  4. May 11, 2012 2:53 am

    Thanks so much… A ‘sprint’ may be out of my range just yet. But I’ll definitely check out the website.
    *anna

Leave a Reply

