Skip to content

Lifting Heavy and Staying Hydrated

March 25, 2012

Thursdays are a weight lifting day for me.  We have been doing legs or lower body on Thursdays.  But I am finding that my legs are sooooo tired on Saturday that running or biking is really hard.  I guess it is my age, which is getting up there!  So here is what we did:

Deadlifts: 10 reps bar only (45lbs); 5 reps (90lbs); 5 reps (100lbs); 12 reps (115lbs)

Goblet squats with 40lb dumb bell 3 sets of 8

Reverse leg ups with exercise ball on bench.

After that we were done…

Friday:  It was a busy day for me and so I rested

Saturday:  Todays run was 3.29 miles in 38:20, really slow…my legs were very tired from the heavy lifting.  I think I need to switch my leg work out to Monday, so my legs are fresher for the weekend.

Something I have discovered in the last few weeks is that hydration is vital to keep from having sore muscles!  I had for many weeks had chronic hamstring pain.  I stretched and foam rolled to no avail.    It dawned on me that I was not drinking enough water  in a day.  I increased my intake and the pain went away!  So my advise is drink more water!!!

 

The morning of my first Triathlon, Hopkington State Park, MA

Happy training, and remember to drink lots!!

Cindy

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 10, 2012 12:39 am

    WOOHOO…love your workout you are doing some great weight.
    *anna

Leave a Reply

