Skip to content

Up the Hill and Into the Wind, the Neon Smurf Runs

April 1, 2012

Right now I am sitting in my living room, there is a fire in the fireplace, and the NCAA games are on the TV.  Kentucky just won.  My team, Indiana University made it to the sweet 16, but lost.  Sad.

We spent the day in Boston, at the Multisport World Expo.  A great day, lots of seminars, vendor expos, drooling at the amazing bikes, the running gear, the Newton shoes.  The Newton running shoes are my “dream” shoe, I wish I could afford a pair.

We (my husband, daughter, and son-in-law) heard Mark Cucuzzela talk about Natural Running.  Mark Allen 6 time Kona Ironman Champion, talk about the human side of the Ironman.  Very inspiring.

Mark Allen

 

Needless to say I took the day off, and will take tomorrow off as well.  But, here is the rest of the weeks training.

Wednesday: up early, to the gym, 20 min on the spin bike. run home from the gym, 2 miles, 23:45, snowflakes in the air as I left.

Thursday:  Lifting day:  Bench press; 10 reps with bar (45lbs); sets of 3 at 55lbs and 60lbs; 2 reps at 70lbs.

2 sets(8 reps) of bar only, with close grip, works the triceps..

1 set of 20 reps rows with 20lbs

Circuit : kb swings, v-sits, thrusters (10lb med ball), reverse lunges (15lb sandbag); 20 seconds on 10 seconds off (switch) X 2 sets; rest 2 min. Repeat…  That really got the heart rate up!!!!

Friday:  The Neon Smurf (my normal black tights were in the wash)  ran 3.5 mile in 43:23.  Tough because the first quarter mile is up hill and into the wind.  The cold wind…

 

The Neon Smurf

 

Even though it is back to being cold, the forsythia is blooming!!  Spring is coming.  Have a great weekend.

Spring is Coming!!

 

Grandma

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2012 1:47 am

    I love the Neon Smurf!! Awesome, expo. Glad you guys had fun!

  2. April 2, 2012 1:44 pm

    Sounds like you had a great workout that day! I finished my pyramid swim today. A bit of a killer, and I accidentally went too long. Oh well, only another 50 yards. When is your triathlon?

    • April 2, 2012 7:41 pm

      First one is July 8th… Gotta get into the pool!! I have been running and cycling all winter.

      • April 2, 2012 8:34 pm

        Yeah you do!~ 🙂 do you have a good swimming coach? I’m lucky, I have both my sister and a Team-In-Training coach. I’m SO much more motivated than I’ve ever been before. I *may* have caught the Triathlon bug. This is my last year racing with the 40s age! I’m just glad I’m still moving! I’ll be cheering you on, girl! Mine is in four weeks.

Leave a Reply

