Skip to content

Driveway Rash

April 9, 2012

 

In the hallow of a tree, Bowen Island, British Columbia, June 2011

Last year when training for my Triathlon, I fell twice on my bike…both times I was basically stopped…once at a light next to a bus load of school kids…embarrassing to say the least.  Both times a skinned knee was about the only injury.

Friday I was on a ride, 14 miles, out a long flat side road with almost no traffic.  The wind at my back, I made the first leg in about 25 min…worked on some sprints, easy to do with the wind helping.  Not so fast on the way home…

WARNING: GRAPHIC PICTURE BELOW!!

I have been having trouble with my right shoe and clip, sometimes it is hard to get clipped in and out…this was one of those times…  Ride is done and I am coming up the driveway, I could not get unclipped before I lost momentum and over I went.  Broke my fall with my right hand and jammed my wrist pretty bad, and scrapped my knee.

ouch

 

Hope that is not too graphic for you…

Have been icing and wrapping my wrist, feeling better today…

I ran a 5K on Saturday with two of my daughters, fun!  Very slow time…38;24, but I did ride for an hour on Friday and I fell…at least that is my story and I am sticking to it.

This morning I was going to do some speed work…Ha!  Felt like an old lady (I guess I am), hamstring tight and just tired… Did just over 1.5 miles in 22 min… Going to skip lifting today, still don’t have any grip strength in my right hand.

Tomorrow is another day!!!!  Gotta get to the pool, too.

Grandma

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2012 5:35 pm

    Glad to hear you are ok after the spill. I have heard a lot of people say the same thing about being able to unclip their shoes in time. You just go over with the bike. Perhaps the pool with revitalize you!

  2. April 10, 2012 2:52 am

    Wow, that’s a pretty rough scrape. Have you tried taking your foot out of the shoe completely? I wonder if that would work?

    • April 10, 2012 1:54 pm

      Unfortunately my shoe has a two handed “buckle” not just velcro…I am taking my bike over to the Trek store and have them look at it…

  3. April 10, 2012 3:17 am

    Looks like a nasty scrape! Hope you make it to the pool and your hand makes a quick recovery.

  4. April 12, 2012 6:27 pm

    Why do the worst falls seem to happen when you’re barely moving? I was in the wrong gear starting out from my driveway…Probably the one time I’ve ever stepped into my pedals and instantly clicked into them; I tried to pedal forward and ended up on the ground. It was almost a year ago and my knee still bears the scar!

Leave a Reply

