Skip to content

Eventful Weekend

April 16, 2012

I have been trying to write this post all weekend.  Such a mix of emotions, amazingly happy and incredibly sad.

Friday  was one of those days that held great excitement and the promise of life, and great disappointment and the finality of death.

I received a call from my brother, who lives in Colorado, who has been battling esophageal cancer for around two years.  The latest is, the cancer has metastasized to his back and brain.  The Doctors give him weeks to maybe months.  I am still in shock.  Not what you want to hear about your loved one.

Mike and I in January

“He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will abide in the shadow of the Almighty.  I will say to the Lord, “My refuge and my fortress, my God in whom I trust.” Psalm 91:1-2

I will be heading to Denver in a week to spend the week.

And the promise of life came from the birth of our third grandchild, Caleb Jonathan.  My son and daughter-in law are living in Singapore, I am so glad to have skype, to be able to see him and his happy Mommy and Daddy!!  Can’t wait to hold him.

Caleb Jonathan

 

On the training side, which by the way seems rather insignificant at the moment.

Thursday:  lifting, squats with a med ball a set of 20; 3 sets of 10 with 45# log

Friday: 3 mile run 35:01

Saturday :  bike 16.3 miles; 1:12

Sunday; rest

Monday: swim 400 yds, I felt the shoulder on the side that i landed when I fell last week, need to do some stretching.

We will see how the week progresses.

Grandma

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2012 3:26 pm

    Very sorry to hear about your brother. We wish him, and you, all the best.

  2. April 16, 2012 4:14 pm

    Oh my goodness, what a weekend you have had. The courage that it takes to go through cancer is astounding to me. I wish him, you, and the whole family peace and love. I send you hugs from afar. Keep up with your training, it will help keep you sane. Love to you, my new blogging friend

    • April 17, 2012 12:03 pm

      Thanks so much Sandra, my run this morning, although slow, made a difference. Need a lot of peace right now!

      • April 17, 2012 2:21 pm

        Yea, good for your for not forgetting about your own health. Sending you hugs.

  3. April 16, 2012 4:22 pm

    Congratulations on your adorable grandbaby, and my sympathies for your brother’s diagnosis. I hope you get to spend some quality time with him while in Denver.
    Great job on the training, too…I agree with the previous poster; keeping it up even while you’re under stress might help you process all this news. Best wishes!

  4. April 16, 2012 5:39 pm

    Thank you for sharing all of this – we are thinking of you and your family!

  5. April 17, 2012 1:00 am

    Thank you all for your kind words! I will keep up the training, you are right Sandra, it will help keep me sane!

  6. April 17, 2012 4:02 am

    A hard weekend, to be sure. My prayers for your brother and your family for peace in these upcoming months. And congratulations on your 3rd grandbaby! The circle of life and the emotions that come with it are amazing. ♥

  7. April 17, 2012 5:26 am

    Congrats on your third grandchild! Hopefully, your brother will make a full recovery. Good work on the training front.

Leave a Reply

