Skip to content

Motivation and Injuries

April 23, 2012

At the moment it seems hard to motivate myself…my brother is constantly on my mind.  But motivate I must!  I think of my new grandson!!

Then there are the aches and pains…on Monday, I strained my hamstring doing a deadlift, didn’t warm up enough.  Let that be a lesson to me…

I ran on Tuesday, maybe should not have, but, did.  Walked yesterday 2.5 miles, to the grocery, could feel my hamstring…tender.  Stretched, but not enough.

Thursday I did nothing, (well not, nothing…errands and blog posts…) I swam on Friday afternoon, 30 min. with only a few rest breaks for a drink…I wish I could keep better track of my laps…I always loose count around 10…oh well.

This morning(Sunday) I ran 3.3 in the drizzle, slow and with walk breaks…about 40 min.  Hamstring felt good.  I think I need to be more diligent about stretching and foam rolling!!

Off to Colorado tomorrow, to visit my brother.  Will try to blog, leaving my laptop at home, just the ipad with me, hopefully I can figure out how to use the mobile app, and how to get pictures… if not I will recap in a week…

Last Sunday afternoon, my husband and I met some friends, visiting from Australia, for coffee in Portsmouth, NH.  We live about 10 miles from there.  What a great town!!  If you get the chance to visit in the summer, it will be well worth your time!!  Here are some of the sights.

The bridge to Maine is coming down, to make way for a new one.

Part of the new gundalow they have built

Skyline from Prescott Park, love the arched chimney

The Salt pile, mild winter, not much was used. Bow of the Tug boats docked at the harbor.

Pointy dock posts, keeps the seagulls off!

I realize these are just tidbits of Portsmouth…you will just have to visit to see the rest!

Happy training,

Grandma

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2012 1:06 am

    Sometimes when I’m not motivated, I just do something else entirely. For me, that’s usually some cheesy workout DVD or a video on YouTube. Helps shake up my routine. But, it makes sense you are feeling this way. Lots on your mind. I’m rooting for you! Miss you.

  2. April 23, 2012 2:04 am

    I hope you have a safe trip visiting your brother. It will be nice to spend this time with him.

    In regard to the WordPress app in iPad… I think it’s easier than typing it on my PC… just my opinion. Just remember in order to upload pics, you have to be online… other than that, I think you’ll like it.

    Blessings 🙂

  3. April 23, 2012 2:41 am

    Good luck, and enjoy your time with your brother. . . Thanks for the tips on the iPad, by the way. I’m still trying to figure it out (new to iPad technology!).
    We’re sending you happy thoughts, gramma!

  4. April 23, 2012 1:35 pm

    Have a lovely visit with your brother.
    *anna

Trackbacks

  1. Tagging: Getting To Know You! « A Promise to Dad

Leave a Reply

