Skip to content

Mile High Training

April 26, 2012

I am, as you know out in Colorado visiting with my brother, who is on hospice. We are in a burb of Denver. Can I just say, I think I want to move here. Being close to family would be super. I think the thing that amazes me is the abundance of outdoor activities that are encouraged by the “facilities” available. For example from my brothers I could ride my bike to Denver on a trail (paved). A very short drive away are parks with trails all over the foothills. Just makes me drool…

Training:
Monday: 3.34 miles, walking, 1:10, walked with my Mom, she keeps pace!
Tuesday: 2.43 miles, 33:12 run/walk, felt the altitude!
Wednesday: 3.3 mile walk, 1 hour, with my daughter Sarah
Thursday: spin bike at the fitness center, 9 miles, 41 min, followed by a 5 min run

If I could figure out how to add photos I would…

20120426-163350.jpg

Have a great day, oh and thanks for all your prayers and thoughts, my brother is hanging in there.

Grandma

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2012 11:29 pm

    Lots of good thoughts from me… How wonderful that you can be together at this time.
    I’m glad you’ve found a nice place to continue your training. Denver is beautiful!

  2. April 26, 2012 11:55 pm

    Our friends moved out to Fort Collins last year, and they can’t stop talking about how great the bike and running paths are! Sounds like a great place to train!

  3. April 27, 2012 12:12 am

    I would move to Colorado or New Mexico in a heartbeat. Surrounded by some of the healthiest people in the country . . Plus my vet moved to Boulder last year and I am lost without him. 😦
    Sending you all peace .

  4. April 27, 2012 3:02 am

    We have relatives in Co. Springs and friends in Longmont. Lovely country, but too far from the shores for me to ever consider a move there. How wonderful to have time w/ your family during this time. I’m amazed you are able to train so well at altitude! Our last visit took a long time to adjust.
    *anna

  5. April 27, 2012 3:18 am

    It is true it is far from the shore… I live only 15 miles from the ocean…I would miss those walks on the beach!

Leave a Reply

