Skip to content

Back home

May 3, 2012

I am back home, very tired, and very sad.

Cancer sucks…

We did have a nice time being together as a family.  We are spread over the country so we don’t get to see much of each other very often.   I loved being in Colorado, where my brother lives.  The views are amazing and the trails are awesome.  The Ralston Creek trail runs through their neighborhood, I could have run from their house to Denver, no streets!

Living near the seacoast of New Hampshire, I think we are all of 50 – 75 feet, sure felt that mile high altitude!!  I walked more that I usually do, but the weather and the trails were worth it.

The training for the last part of the week…

Friday – rest

Saturday – Run 4.5 miles, altitude, hills, wind.  1 hour

Sunday – Walk 3.5 miles. 51 min

Monday – Run 3.5 miles, 43 min, ran up the big hill, really sucking air at the end…

We took the  red eye back on Monday night, so Tuesday was a rest day…

Wednesday – 250 yard swim…not very far but husband not feeling well.

Here is a few pictures of our drive to the mountains.

Driving west on I 70

12,000 feet, walking up a set of steps, out of breath!!

Looking toward Arapahoe Basin, still open

Have a good day,

Grandma

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2012 3:31 am

    We just flew over the Rockies on our way to New Mexico and I was surprised how much snow they still had!! I’m sorry that you are sad–cancer does suck. Live each day loving, truly living, and ever regretting. :-). Hang in there. Be strong, but give yourself time to sad, too. You are in my heart.

  2. May 3, 2012 5:28 am

    I’m so glad you had the time you did with your brother. And you are right… cancer sucks… big time 😦
    The views of the mountains are beautiful! How wonderful that he lives in such an amazing place!

  3. May 3, 2012 2:07 pm

    So sorry for your family having to journey with cancer. Not fun. My heart goes out to you. I love that you still got in your workouts and am really impressed since you were at such a higher elevation! Lovely shots of the mountains. Rest and feel the full range of feelings…
    *anna

  4. May 5, 2012 11:41 am

    Cancer is a miserable journey that no one deserves. Great that you could still get your training in during these difficult times. Beautiful photos of the mountains.

  5. May 7, 2012 12:10 pm

    Glad to have you back in the East. My wife and I will be in Hanover this weekend for a 5k trail race. Never been to New Hampshire so we are excited. Continue to be well.
    All the best,
    J&K

    • May 7, 2012 5:22 pm

      Oh cool! My husband went to Dartmouth, our first two kids were born in Hanover! It is a lovely town! Enjoy

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

