Skip to content

Back to Flat Land Training

May 8, 2012

I must admit that I loved training in the beautiful state of Colorado.  Running and walking were all I could do, without pool or bike.  Every time I saw a cyclist ( and it was just about every 10 minutes)  I missed my bike!!  Oh and the weather was exceptional.  A few of the views from one run; Ralston Creek Trail, around Tucker Lake.

Tucker Lake has a trail all the way around it!

View to the southwest

Downtown Denver in the background

Table Mountain

My Mom and I on a walk. I have to hustle to keep up with her!

 

Coming home to cold rainy days sure took the steam out of my training…

A quick rundown of my the last part of the week.

Thursday: ugh!  I was so tired…did go for a walk, 1.6 miles around the block.

Friday:  Swam 500 yards, running a race in the morning, nothing too strenuous.

Saturday:  The Peeper 5K  Time 36:15 (watch time).  I was really happy with my time.

I am really needing to start pushing myself more both in running and biking.  I really would like to do all the interval training and speed work, but I some times feel like I have only one speed…plodding…I have a personal trainer I work with for weight lifting, and I get pushed and do things I didn’t think I could do, like today for example.  I need a running/biking coach!!

Monday:  Swam 650 yards in the morning,

Lifting: 105 lb deadlifts 5 rounds of 5 reps,  then conditioning…4 stations, push-ups(5 reps), ring rows(5 reps), russian twists(5 each side), body weight squats(10 reps), we did 7 rounds.  The totals would read: 35 push-ups; 35 ringrows; 70 russian twists; 70 squats…whew it felt good!

Tomorrow is supposed to be a run day…looks like the weather will be cold (40’s) and rain…I think I will wimp out and go to the gym…maybe do a speed work out on the treadmill.

 

Have a good week,

Grandma

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2012 3:56 am

    Your mom looks great and I see the bikers in the background of that shot!
    My mom is going to be 81 next week… she runs circles around me!
    What a beautiful part of the country!

  2. May 8, 2012 12:03 pm

    My mom is turning 79 in a few weeks! She may be little, but she is fast!!

  3. May 8, 2012 12:52 pm

    Isn’t it wild how far you can see in CO? The land is so flat and goes on forever. I love that your mom is active. My mom is turning into a puddle of jello with all the attendant physical and medical issues of the sedentary life *sigh*.

    *anna

    • May 8, 2012 1:03 pm

      Yes I watched my Mother-in-law and her sedentary life, made for a short life…sad. That is why I keep moving, not very fast, but moving!!

Leave a Reply

