Skip to content

Back to the flat lands

May 18, 2012

What a week…very, very sad…I know he is in a better place…

“For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.”  John 3:16

The physical body is gone but his spirit lives on!!  Comforting, but gut wrenching sad at the same time.

Arrived home on Wednesday night.  Thursday morning I had such a hard time getting going.  I had planned breakfast with a friend, and after was going to go for a bike ride.  I had not been on my bike in a month…with travel and rain…  So many thoughts ran through my head, from I am just too tired, to being afraid I might get hit by a car or crash…

Forced myself to get out there.  And I am glad I did.  It was one of those cloudless perfect spring days.  Refreshing, stimulating, and a great release of sadness…

Glad for spring and blue skies!

I started to get freaked out because our first triathlon is July 8th…7 weeks away and some of that we are traveling again…but I will just do the best I can.

Here is what the past week looked like.

Friday:  Run 2.6 mi, 32 min, rainy drizzle…

Saturday: Walk 3.34 mi., 50 min

Sunday: Run 4.2 miles 1:03, running while crying is therapeutic!

Monday: rest

Tuesday: walk 3.08 miles 44 min

Wednesday: travel day, not very restful…

Thursday: bike 14 miles, 58 min (Garmin battery died); Vinny’s Gym: squats to warm up, bench press: 45lb for 10 reps; 50lbs for 5 reps; 55lbs for 5 reps; 60lbs for 7 reps, rows 3 sets of 10 each arm (20 lbs)

Friday: Swim 1100 yards, 38 min

Tomorrow we are going to do the bike portion of the Timberman, which is in August!  I hear it is hilly…

Oh speaking of the Garmin!!  I used some birthday money and got a 405 and a cadence sensor for my bike.  My husband laughs, I am such a geek!  Love the gadgets!!

Have a great weekend!

Grace,

Grandma

18 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2012 10:48 pm

    I just discovered your blog. I am sorry to read of your brother’s passing. Your faith is strong and uplifting. I hope you find peace. I too am a triathlete and always afraid of the crazy people on the road! All the best in your training!

  2. May 18, 2012 11:22 pm

    Very nice week of workouts. I looked at the site you recommended and at first thought “sprint” was not a possibility for me…but after learning more, I think I can and will shoot for one in the autumn. Thanks. Blue skies are awesome!!
    *anna

  3. May 18, 2012 11:56 pm

    Run while crying is a great release! I second that! And, I’m so JEALOUS of your Garmin!!! Super awesome! Keep up the training. I’m sure when you cross the finish, you will look back at all you’ve been through, and be so proud, you did it!! Through all the stinky awful stuff, you will make it to the finish!

  4. May 19, 2012 1:17 am

    Sending you a big cyber hug. So glad you’re back in your routine. Your heart will heal, these things take time.
    Love your Garmin… Want one 🙂

    • May 19, 2012 1:26 am

      Thanks! I feel hugged! Got the Garmin on Amazon, a great price! and fun to use!

      • May 19, 2012 1:33 am

        Im in China… Gonna look for one here. If not, amazon order when I’m in the States in 2.5 weeks 🙂

      • May 21, 2012 11:08 am

        where in the states??? Near New Hampshire at all???

  5. May 19, 2012 1:57 pm

    Ok…just marveling at you techo geeks that’s all…. 🙂 managing my camera is about as far as I’ve gone into tech-dom.
    *anna

  6. May 25, 2012 7:13 pm

    Okay girl. Use this new Garmin (I love a Garmin) to train for the Pleasant Prairie Danskin Triathlon next summer (end of August). You, me, and flamidwyfe! Think about it!

    • May 25, 2012 9:27 pm

      OMG That would be awesome!!!!!!! What fun!!!!! Looking it up now!!

      • May 25, 2012 11:08 pm

        I’ve wanted to do a Danskin since I first started looking into Tris 4 years ago. I cried when I found out that each age group has a Final Finisher–so a newbie NEVER has to be last! 🙂 They do tend to fill up fast, but this one is in the middle of the country and not too far from Chicago (for flights/train).
        I’m planning on it, and so is Sandi! We want to be Las Tres Blog Amigas !!!

      • May 25, 2012 11:37 pm

        Viva Las Tres Blog Amigas!!!! I am going to save my pennies!!!! What fun!

      • May 25, 2012 11:38 pm

        Viva Las Tres Blog Amigas!!!! I am going to save my pennies!!!! What fun! oh a friend of mine is doing the Danskin one in Massachusetts. I have friends who have done it in the past. My first tri was an all womens. I loved it!!

  7. May 26, 2012 3:02 pm

    Yippy!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

