Skip to content

First solid training week in a while

May 26, 2012

The beach is ready for summer!! Ogunquit, ME

 

First solid week in more than a month.  I went into it with gusto…and my knees are feeling the ramping up, perhaps I went out a bit strong…..I think I was a bit panicked; the first tri is July 8th, not that far away…

Saturday: GORGEOUS DAY!!!!!

Timberman Course, Gilford, NH 15.1 miles, 1 hour 7 min.  You can check out the stats here  Hilly!!  Elevation gain of 804 ft.

Monday:

Morning (5:30AM) swim 1050 yards, 35 min.  Afternoon: I wanted to run the community trail that starts near my house, (thanks Nomeatbarefeet for the inspiration).  I knew the trail ended at Fischer St.  and that is how far I planned to go. It was 4.6 miles…walked a bit and my knees were very sore.  Skipped lifting, it was a leg day…at least I made one wise decision!

Tuesday: I rested and iced my knees…

Wednesday

Swim in the morning: 1050 yds, with some sprints, even lapped the guy in my lane!!!!  Afternoon:  bike 13 miles 58 min

Thursday:

Ran with daughter Sarah and Granddaughter Sophia(in Stroller) on the Cotton Valley Rail Trail in Wolfboro, NH.  It passes Lake Wentworth, there were loons calling each other!  Nice!!  Wish it was not 45 min from my house!!  4 miles 45 min.

Lifting: arm day… bench press 45lb x 10 rep  warm up, 50lb x3; 55lb x 3; 60lbx 7; dumb bell rows 25lb x 15 reps x 3 sets; overhead tricep curls 15lb x 15 reps x 3 sets.  leg lifts.

Friday: Rest

Tomorrow we plan a long ride most likely it will be 24-25 miles.

Remembering

 

 

Have a great weekend!!!

Grandma

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2012 4:04 am

    I’m sure you’re happy to be back in the swing of things! I’m meeting with a trainer when I’m home in the States next month. So excited 🙂

  2. May 26, 2012 9:10 am

    Excellent and inspiring. 25# X 15 for 3 row!! that’s awesome. I’m back into my routine after being sick, and it DOES feel good, but I feel like a chump by compare grandma. If only my weight were doing good things. 😦 Do you weigh yourself or do you only focus on the training and let that take care of itself.

    • May 26, 2012 11:08 am

      A quote that I try to remember… “comparison is the thief of joy”. It has taken me two years to work up to these weights…keep working at it, you will get there! Funny you should ask do I weigh myself… I was debating weather to or not this morning.. Didn’t. Usually I go by how my jeans fit …but every now and then I do weigh myself…sometimes I am pleasantly surprised!

  3. May 26, 2012 4:24 pm

    Great job with training this week! Beautiful picture of the ocean…
    I don’t think you need to panic about your tri…Sounds like you’re very prepared, and it’s still plenty far away! Just take care of those knees!

    • May 26, 2012 8:17 pm

      Thanks… I have taken two days off this week an tomorrow is another…23 mile easy bike today. Traveling again next week…hope to swim and run, in hot Arizona…early morning!

  4. May 27, 2012 4:21 pm

    Nice job getting back to the workouts! Love it: “comparison is the thief of joy.” (even if you did lap that dude, eh?)
    Looking forward to hearing about your long ride. I have not done a 20 mile since I was in college! Looking forward to them this fall after my tri (or maybe just before it). My tri is only a 10.1 mile bike ride though.

Leave a Reply

