Skip to content

Traveling again!

May 31, 2012

Posting from sunny and HOT Arizona.  Visiting with my folks for a week.  Today is suppose to be 109 degrees…It is one of those strange feelings; the sky is cloudless, the trees are green…should be outside right…until you open the door and it is like walking into an oven.  It is a dry heat, but still HOT!!

View from the patio onto the golf course

Where I had breakfast

It is only noon…and this is in the shade

My folks live in a “Sun City Grand” in Surprise, AZ…on the golf course.  They have a huge patio where we have breakfast, if it is not too hot.  This morning was lovely.

Before breakfast we got up and went for a two mile run.  Not really very far…I have been plagued with sciatica (at least I think??)  Mostly while sitting, the flight was literally a pain in the you know what and down my leg…ouch…  So running this morning both felt good and not good.  Did some stretching and it feels better.

Remember when I fell off my bike back in April, I still can not put weight on it…I have a friend who is a physical therapist, I was asking her what I needed to do to get the strength back.  She had me do some moves…the bottom like is she thinks I might have broken it…yikes!!  I never went to the ER cause, well, really I did not want a cast…and I saw my primary care doc the week after, no bruise, no swelling…she pushed and felt and did not think I had broken it.  SO I go to the Orthopedic doc when I get back.  I bought a brace that keeps it stiff and have worn it constantly for the last two weeks, it does feel better.  Probably too late for a cast…:-)

Training is going, well?, it is going.  It seems that my swimming and biking are getting better, running not so much.  I plod along!!

This week in review:

Saturday: 23 mile bike, slow and steady, beautiful morning, 1 hour 46 min.

Monday: 1 mile run down to my daughter’s apartment to help pack her kitchen.  10:23 non stop, no walking…not bad…  Later in the day first open water swim at Lake Wentworth, trying out the wetsuit for the first time.  Feels really, really buoyant, hard to do the breast stroke with my butt in the air… and the neck feels tight.  I think as I learn to put it on and adjust it it will be better…I kind of look like a stuffed piece of licorice…sure like the fact that you don’t feel the cold water as much.

Tuesday:  Was going to ride today, but raining/misting so went for a run instead, was only going around the block(short), but decided to go the longer route, nearly 3 miles, 35:36.

Wednesday: Swim morning (5AM)  1100 yards, felt really good, did a few speed sets, love when I pass others(hubby sharing my lane), boosts my confidence, that yes I am a good swimmer.  Kind of makes up for how I sometimes feel about running…

Thursday:  Arizona, nearly 80 degrees at 6:30AM…2 miles, 25:35, felt slow and walked a fair bit, adjusting to the heat too, not this hot at home!!

Hope you all have a fantastic week…

Grace,

Grandma

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2012 8:39 pm

    Oh, I miss New Mexico. Not as hot as Arizona, but still miss that beautiful sky and dry air!

    • June 2, 2012 2:17 am

      It is really HOT and quite hazy…oh well

      • June 2, 2012 7:01 pm

        Tell them to move to New Mexico! Oh wait, that’s probably the haze–the 300 square mile fire with 12,000 firefighters (5% contained as of yesterday) in western New Mexico. It’s going to be a bad year for fires all over the West.
        Enjoy your time there!

  2. June 1, 2012 12:11 am

    Have a fun time this week! Your training is amazing! When you swim do you do a forward stroke? Just curious.

    • June 1, 2012 2:13 am

      Thanks. I do sets of 200 yds. 3 laps (50yds each) crawl, 1 50 yd lap breast stroke. I have found it is the best way for me to keep track.

      • June 1, 2012 2:19 am

        Awesome… Thanks for letting me know. I’ll be swimming in Florida next week… Yay!

  3. June 1, 2012 1:44 pm

    Grandma, I haven’t been to AZ in a long time. We used to have family near Mt. Lemon. I love the Sonoran Desert, so lovely…but we’d usually be there in winter. Good idea to be up early then maybe take a siesta.

    I printed up the schedule from the tri site you recommended. It’s a swim focused one. 3 days swim, 2 days run, 2 days bike…although I’ll probably run 3 days since I am getting my dd into the C25K (but that is very easy at this phase). I also lift 3 days…going heavier now. My pool at the gym is 100 yards long, not super large. But I’m always surprised at how tired/winded I get.
    *anna

    • June 2, 2012 2:20 am

      Great Anna, that looks like a great plan! Our pool is only 25yds..lots of back and forth. The longer length helps with the continuous swim. Good luck keep us up to date!! I hear you are going to do the Danskin next year!!!!!!!!!! Fun!!!

  4. June 2, 2012 1:05 pm

    Yes, I am going to join you three…I’d been thinking about it, as you could probably tell from my comments, for a bit now. When Sandi said she was doing it, I wanted to jump in the fray too…what a great thing to focus on….rather than a scale number 😉
    *anna

Leave a Reply

