Skip to content

Nice Weather and The Mount A ride

June 12, 2012

Look the sky is blue!!!!!

We finally have some nice weather ahead.  There has been so much gray skies and rain!  My husband and I planned a bike ride on Saturday, the morning was crisp and blue!

The ride is known around here as “Mount A”, short for Mount Agamenticus.  It is in York, Maine and has a road to the top.  The elevation is 691 feet.  We started at the York exit off I95, at Chase Pond Road.  The ride is mostly up…I made it to the first switch back on the Mountain and ran off the road, luckily I was able to unclip before I fell.  At that point I turned around and headed back to the car.  My husband rode up the mountain twice…he rocks!!!  Getting back to 95 I then did a one mile run.

This is actually looking down the first part of the hill

The totals for the ride were 11.9 miles, 52:52, run was 12.01 time for 1 mile.

Me and my ride! with the jersey my husband got me for my birthday!

We drove up to the top and took some time walking around and took some pictures!

The ocean from the top!!!

The rest of the week training:

Last Thursday:  run in am 3.08 miles, 37 min, lifting but I can’t remember what we did, it was arm day.

Friday:  swim 800 yards, felt really tired

Saturday:  Mt A ride and brick

Sunday: off

Monday: 1050 yards in about 30 min, can’t see the clock without my glasses…

lifting: deadlifts 45# warmup for 10, 95#, 115#,125# 5 reps each

one arm rows 20# 30 reps each arm

log clean and press 45# 5 sets of 5

walking lunges 20 x 3 sets

The swimming this morning was interesting, I have been reading Total Immersion by Terry Laughlin.  I am a pretty good swimmer, and I tried out the technique this morning, hoping to improve my stroke and maybe be faster without expending extra energy.  I was observing the strokes of some of the swimmers in the pool, many swimmers have a short choppy, windmill type stroke.  A few look smooth, but most seem to be trying to “power” their way through the water.   I was using this method and not really going “all” out but concentrating on the stroke and glide.  It was amazing to feel the difference, I felt that I was not expending as much energy as usual and yet was moving at a pretty good clip.

Product Details

What I noticed about this method is that there is a real glide and the power is not wasted with drag from arms in the way of forward motion. Your stroke should not be a windmill motion, but a stroke and glide (even if for a few seconds).   If you are interested in improving your swimming I highly recommend this book!

Up early tomorrow for a bike ride tomorrow, oh and my wrist is better, no broken bones!!  Some exercises to improve flexibility and we are good to go!!

I am enjoying the nice weather while I can!!

Grace,

Grandma

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2012 1:32 am

    Glad you weren’t hurt, sounds like quite the ride.
    I love that book by Laughlin. I studied it like crazy for two years! Having someone videotape you in the pool really helps–then look at his online video examples of swimmers. They make it look SO easy! (I was an eggbeater at the beginning)

    • June 12, 2012 5:17 pm

      I am liking this very much…what I didn’t put in the post was I lapped the girl sharing my lane twice…not that I am comparing just surprised… 😉

      • June 12, 2012 7:04 pm

        YEA!
        We had a swim time with coach this morning and he is very pleased at the progress I have made with my form! Yea! 🙂 I’m coachable! 😉

  2. June 12, 2012 2:24 am

    Praise God you weren’t hurt! The view is AMAZING!! Looks like a tough ride uphill.
    I’m going to check out the book, as I haven’t swam (swum??) in a million years, well properly anyway.

    • June 12, 2012 5:18 pm

      I actually didn’t fall, guess my writing skills leave something to be desired…BUT, yes Praise God, it could have been ugly, big rocks on the side of the road…

      • June 12, 2012 5:42 pm

        Well that’s good news, you said something about unstrapping and I had a “can I do that moment”… Lol

  3. June 12, 2012 1:42 pm

    Oh my, I know York ME. My cousins live in Dover NH and once as teens we walked to York just because we wanted to swim in a pond there….summers 🙂 That’s excellent that your wrist is ok. The book is a useful hint, thanks. I am trying to do so much figuring out of techniques and all that. Doing the training scheduled, but for the swim, when it says 16 minutes or what ever number it is hard (for me at least) to swim the entire time, so I do back stroke as a break. So much to learn. Nice to have good weather, here we’re drizzly grey again.
    *anna

    • June 12, 2012 5:20 pm

      OMG Anna, I live in Dover…small world!!!! you have to come visit…
      you will build up your swim endurance just like the bike and run!! I use breast stroke to “rest”

  4. June 13, 2012 2:34 am

    Love the outfit! Thanks for all the helpful swimming info! I need all the help I can get! Going to check out that book.

Leave a Reply

