Skip to content

Oh, the PAIN of dead lifts

June 15, 2012

My weight lifting has been pretty spotty over the last two months.  Traveling and being tired…So this was my first full week back.  Last post I gave you the lowdown on what we did on Monday.  Dead lifts being the heavy lifting.  Tuesday was a planned 16 mile ride with some serious hills(for me).

Up is the way home…

 

Stepping out of bed on Tuesday morning I realized that bending over and sitting were going to be a challenge!!  Not doing the bike ride was not in the plan, first race is only a few weeks away…gingerly stretched, then set out.  For the first several miles which were moderately up, I planned my escape…if I get to here and am too tired I will turn around…or if I get to here I will take another road and avoid the big hill… and then I realized I don’t like to push myselfSO… I attacked the hills and did the 16.21 miles in 1:10:33.   A bit over a 13 mph pace, wish it was faster…mental note…work on speed…

Becoming one of my favorite views

Wednesday, I could NOT bend over and sitting was a monumental task…  but, no pain, no gain, right… I did not give in to the easy way out…needless to say I took Wednesday off, but, tried to keep moving.

Thursday morning was still a bit sore but needed to fit in a run.   My route from my house no matter which way I go is a hill.  I usually either walk the first hill or bail halfway up, but after the ride and realizing I bail far too easily, I went for it.  I am happy to report that I went 1.5 miles before a walk!!!!!!  Saw my daughter and she asked for some pointers on running in her new minimal shoes…so time was a bit longer than I had hoped.  The rest of the run had more hills, only two 3o sec breaks!!  Time just shy of 38 min.

Lifting again, thankfully arms day,

Bench press: #45 x 10 warmup; 45# x 5; 50# x 5; 55# x 13

rows with new contraption…will take pictures next week.  About 40#, 10 each arm x 3 sets

Arm press with same contraption 40#, 10 each arm x 3 sets

Jump squats 5 x 5 sets

This morning I went for a swim.  I was really tired but did 1000 yards in 25:32.  Not too bad.

Wells Beach, Maine in the distance.  From Mount A

 

Tomorrow we head up to Waterville Valley to do an open water swim, gotta get used to the wet suit!, and bike the Black Fly route.  Which has a (I think) 900ft rise…Yikes!!

Will let you know if I can walk after…

Have a great weekend, our weather is supposed to be gorgeous!!

Grandma

7 Comments leave one →
  1. scanney permalink
    June 15, 2012 5:38 pm

    You should start easing up on the leg workouts, maybe cut them out altogether over the next 3-4 weeks. Your bike and running training will be better quality and prepare you for what you really want to do well at: your triathalon. You can always resum those dead lifts after your race, but if you really want to be “on” for the race I’d stop doing them and do body weight squats I their place. Push yourself on the triathalon components now not the weight lifting:) it will pay off for you on race day.

  2. June 15, 2012 9:38 pm

    You. Are. Awesome!!!

  3. June 16, 2012 12:47 am

    Ouch. I’ve been doing DL’s this past two weeks and I’ll join you. I rotate between 50 and 60# you probably are doing more. The biking you’re doing sounds pretty intense. Is your next triathlon in hilly terrain? Good thing to rest up a bit it sounds like.
    *anna

  4. scanney permalink
    June 16, 2012 10:07 pm

    You should start easing up on the leg
    workouts, maybe cut them out altogether over the next 3-4 weeks. Your bike and running training will be better quality and prepare you for what you really want to do well at: your triathalon. You can always resum those dead lifts after your race, but if you really want to be “on” for the race I’d stop doing them and do body weight squats I their place. Push yourself on the triathalon components now not the weight lifting:) it will pay off for you on race day.

Leave a Reply

