Skip to content

Family Weekend

June 29, 2012

Our son Christopher and his wife Danielle (Endurancegal) (check out her blog) and my new Grandson Caleb are here visiting from Singapore!!!!!!!  Caleb is 10 weeks old and a sweet boy!!  He has blessed this Grandma with lots and lots of smiles.  Trying to get my fill before they head back to Asia.

Caleb, so alert and strong for 11 weeks!

We had a family gathering in the Poconos where my husband’s sister and her husband have a home on a lake. Perfect weather and family make for a grand time.

My husband, brave man that he is took his bike and went for a 30 mile ride on Saturday morning…I did not take my bike, mostly because the hills are BIG and there are NO shoulders…  One note, my husband said it was probably not a great idea to do the ride, several times being passed way to close for comfort, with not where to go but off the road.  I am glad he is still with us!!!

I took my wetsuit to try and get in some time in the lake,  still not super comfortable swimming in it (the suit and the lake).  I am rather buoyant anyway and it just makes me more so.  The swim went great, more comfortable in the lake than usual.

Gorgeous day on the Lake

My brother and sister-in-law are both scuba divers and Steve and I got to talking about wetsuits.  He had me try Anne’s skin suit,   it is .5 mil thick, compared to my 5/3 mil suit.  what a difference, much more freedom and not bulky, yet still warm.  I was so excited about how non bulky and free I felt, I dove in with my glasses on… later I was getting dressed and could not find them.  I didn’t even realize I had them on.  We looked everywhere, then my daughter said she noticed I had them on when I was on the ladder…she assumed I knew I had them on.  I told her she needs to begin asking about the obvious…getting old.  My husband donned a scuba mask and went diving, MY HERO, FOUND THEM ON THE SECOND DIVE!!!!!!  I was so glad, I never realized I had them on and never felt them come off…  Oh and Steve sent me home with the skin suit to try it.  FUN!

 

Monday:  800 yd swim, run home from the pool 3.09 miles, 40 min

Tuesday: 16 Mile bike, 1:02 (faster than last time)

Wednesday:  Rest

Thursday: 3. 3 mile run 38 min, lifting:  log(45#) double arm row 3 sets of 20 reps; log overhead press 3 x 8 reps; log bicep curls, did two sets of 8 and then one set with 10# dumb bells, wrist hurting.

Friday: 1000yd swim, 30 min (aprox. forgot to check time)

This weekend is crazy busy and next week is taper week…so will be resting up for the first Tri of the season!!!!! on July 8th.  Here we go, ready or not…

Have a great weekend,

Grandma (Cindy)

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2012 8:04 pm

    What an adorable baby boy!!! Looks like the Pocono’s were lovely. I lived there for about 8 years…not safe biking, agreed. Nice workouts! I think you’ll be totally ready!!
    *anna

  2. June 30, 2012 12:20 am

    Caleb is beautiful! I bet you are over the moon happy being with them!

    You’re gearing up for July 8th in an awesome way…. I can’t wait to hear the results of all of your hard work!

Leave a Reply

