Skip to content

The Black Fly Bit Me

July 9, 2012

I was thinking about calling this post “Epic Fail”.  But decided, that really was a bit strong.  I did finish, not in the fashion I had hoped, but I crossed the finish line running…

I don’t like wetsuits, at least not the one I bought!  after a minute or so in the water I felt panicky, I could not do the crawl and breast stroke was not easy as I mentioned before, butt too high…it was all I could do to practically “doggy paddle” the course.  Swim time 16:09  :-((

The swim course has 4 turns.

Kind of humiliating, because I am a good swimmer.  I will not be using that wetsuit again…I wonder if they will accept a return?  Might try.

Coming out of the water I felt like I had been hit by a truck.  My heart was racing and it was all I could do to walk to my bike.  They had some kids to help get you out of your wetsuit…they had to help me up from the ground…bless them!!  T1 time 4:12

Beautiful view of transition and the mountains.

Then on my bike, I really took it easy the first several miles, it took me so long to calm down, and then all I could think about was that awful wetsuit and the disaster swim…  Luckily the first 7.5 miles of the bike course is downhill…but, that means that the last 7.5 miles are uphill.  I had to walk a bit of the steepest part of the first serious uphill.  Getting off my bike I nearly fell my legs were so wobbly.  But after that break I seemed to be a bit stronger.  Made it to transition, feeling a little sick to my stomach.  Bike time:  1:22:15.

Had to walk to the rack: and choked on my water…  T2 time: 3:21

My Transition spot

Got my running shoes on without too much trouble and took off trying to run, seemed everytime I started to run I felt sick to my stomach…walked a lot of the course, with some running bits, felt so drained.  People along the course were so encouraging!  Took a potty break, so I could run the last more comfortably…  Run time 48:36.

Total time:  2:34:30, my goal had been 2 – 2:15, so not too far off.

All in all as I look back I learned some things:

1.  I don’t think I will swim in a wetsuit again.

2.  The emotional and energy drain from a panic attack is REAL!!

3.  It is ok to cut myself some slack. (walking most of the run)

4.  I had the courage to start, and I persevered to the finish.  No DNF for this girl, I will crawl across the finish if necessary!

5.  The spring events in my life put a serious drain on my emotions, and training.

6.  I have an awesome husband.

7.  I have awesome friends.  Thanks Paquettes for coming to cheer and staying to the finish, your cheers at the finish were priceless!! (making me get teary, typing this!!)

8.  I have awesome blog friends who sent lots of encouragement my way!!!  Thanks

9.  Last but not least:  a line from a song we sing at church…  “All the way my Savior leads me”  He did yesterday…all the way!!

Some highlights:

1.  The fireworks on Saturday night were awesome.

2.  I met “Grandpa”  he is 84.  He has been competing in triathlons since he was 75.  He was such an inspiration.  His granddaughter who is 24, did the whole course with him.  He had a bike accident last year and the doctors said he probably would not be able to compete again…he showed them!!  He really was an inspiration.

3.  Doing the same triathlon with my husband was a blast!  He did awesome!!  His time was 1:37:48

4.  We are now at the lake for two weeks…a few days rest and then back at training!!!  making my plan now hoping that I can really get it going for The Timberman in August.

 

Farewell, from the Adirondacks!

My current view, the porch at Caroga Lake

 

cheers,

Grandma, Cindy

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2012 11:43 pm

    I am thrilled you backed away from epic fail…that is SO not the case. YOU DID IT!! Hurray, hip hip horray!! After a rather grueling several weeks of sorrow as well as multiple travels, I’d say you’re a MAJOR trooper for even stepping up to the starting line 🙂
    *anna

    • July 10, 2012 4:28 pm

      Thanks, Anna!! I don’t think I realized how much sorrow and travel can drain you. Thanks for all your encouragement!!

  2. July 9, 2012 11:44 pm

    😦 oh Momma, I’m sorry it wasn’t so great. I was cheering you from home.

  3. Patrice DeSmith permalink
    July 10, 2012 12:25 am

    I rented a wetsuit last year before the pumpkinman. Tried it and felt the same way you did. Did not use if for the tri. I tried it again after the race and it was better however, I’m with you, more comfortable in the bathing suit. Congratulations!! You are in shape and doing something with your husband that you both enjoy. You are a winner!!!!

  4. July 10, 2012 2:35 am

    Proud, proud, beeming with pride!!! Woo hoo you finished! And just a quarter hour off your expected time… You inspire me… can’t wait to do this August 2013!!!

    • July 10, 2012 4:31 pm

      Thanks Sandi. Your encouragement means a lot…and yes August 2013!!

      • July 11, 2012 4:15 am

        We’re going to have such a great time! Swam early this morning at the college pool. No idea what I’m doing, lol. Have a coach lined up for when I move home in September. Can’t wait!

  5. onyerbicycle permalink
    July 10, 2012 9:10 pm

    Thank you for your post. It made me smile so much as I recognised myself in so much that you wrote.As a back-of-the-pack girl, I just love participating in triathlon.

    • July 11, 2012 12:35 pm

      Thanks Maxine!! I too love participating!! Getting in the water this morning…back in the saddle. Need to overcome the fear now!! Thanks for visiting!

  6. July 11, 2012 2:09 pm

    Oh, I am SO proud of you ! This is SO NOT an epic fail! Failure is not trying. Failure is giving up when you haven’t given your all. None of these describes you.
    YOU ARE AWESOME! YOU SUCCEEDED! Now you have another medal to hang around that beautiful body of yours that can take you places you never dreamed.
    I am so looking forward to August 2013 in Pleasant Prairie. . . It will be so wonderful to meet my inspirations!
    Congratulations, pat yourself on the back, and enjoy a few days off!!! YEA FOR YOU!!!
    I am so proud of you!

    • July 12, 2012 2:38 pm

      I wish I had a medal…this race did not give them out. We got a nice t-shirt and a towel…I wish there were finishers medals. Pleasant Prairie here I come!! Can’t wait.

      • July 12, 2012 5:53 pm

        Booo. The one I did in April didn’t either, but the Team-In-Training people bought medals for us. The prettiest one I own, too! 🙂 T-shirt and towel? That’s okay. . . usually the t-shirts don’t fit me though 😦

Leave a Reply

