Skip to content

Back to “normal”

July 30, 2012

Life is getting back to normal. Still training hard, next Tri is the Timberman in a bit less than 3 weeks. I have done the bike and the run, both are doable. The bike is a bit hilly, but there are breaks of downhill!! The swim is pretty much a straight line, or a short “U” shape. I am NOT wearing a wet suit!!!

Really not much to report.

Friday – off

Saturday – 10 mile bike in 38 min. 2 mile run in 23 min. We then watched our 2 1/2 year old granddaughter overnight…counts as training!!

Sophia

Sunday off

Monday – 1000 yard swim, 3.3 mile run home, bit slow 45 min.

I am starting to think about the run training for the Tufts 10 K. Really want to push myself. Will see if that happens…HA!

Went to the eye doctor today. Because I wear glasses, I have to deal with all the issues of wearing them running and cycling, and not wearing them swimming. They get fogged up in humid weather, my eyes water when I go down hills, I am constantly pushing them back up on my face and I can’t see the clock at the pool to time my 50’s. My prescription sunglasses are “fashion” glasses, I have worn running and cycling, but they are heavy and slip when I am sweaty!

I now have a pair of contacts. They are single vision, for distance (my glasses are tri-focal). I got a pair of fancy looking sunglasses, look really racy!! Getting used to contacts again. I used to wear them, before I needed bi-focals. I really like not wearing glasses, I even bought some readers so I may wear the contacts all the time!!

Cool sunglasses, oh up close…

Tried the sunglasses with my bike helmet…not sure I am keeping them, the stems are a bit long and push out. What brand do you wear? Any recommendations?

 

I have three colors…oh la la

Testing the contacts out tomorrow!! Will see how I like them.

Have a great week!

Grandma

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2012 8:48 pm

    What a cutie pie Sophia is! The top one make you look like the MIB clan…like the pink though 🙂 I found out quickly that I had to put on my sunglasses while riding but it took TWO bug in the eye incidents for me to get it. Sounds like you’re training hard…keep it up and you’ll do grand.
    *anna

  2. July 30, 2012 10:13 pm

    I am lucky enough not to need glasses, but even when the weather is cloudy, I wear “sunglasses”. I have Oakley half-jackets with interchangeable lenses and couldn’t be happier.

    • July 31, 2012 6:39 pm

      I went to the local mall where there is a sunglasses hut, the cheapest Oakleys were $160, bit over my price range. Just ordered some Ryders with interchangeable lenses.

      • July 31, 2012 8:10 pm

        I know, they are very expensive. I got mine as a gift for doing a 3-year project at my job.

  3. July 31, 2012 1:55 am

    I wear designer sunnies that I bought in Abu Dhabi… guess those won’t work while doing a tri… LOL.
    What will you be wearing during the swim part, if not the wet suit?

    • July 31, 2012 6:41 pm

      Oh la la maybe if I wear nothing I will have a faster time! Maybe not! I will wear a pair of Tri shorts, and a half zip Tri top. Worked for my first Tri!

Leave a Reply

