Skip to content

Race Week

August 13, 2012

Whew!  That came up fast!!  I think I am ready…Had a great week last week, accomplished all the rides, swims and runs I had planned.

We were away for the weekend visiting my father-in-law.  This is usually a trip that my husband and son take to Pennsylvania.  They go to a baseball game, but since my son is in Singapore and none of the sons-in-law were able to go…I got to go.

We went to an Iron Pigs game. This is where the name came from:

The IronPigs name is a reference to pig iron, used in the manufacturing of steel, for which the Lehigh Valley region of Pennsylvania is world-renowned. Pig iron is raw iron melted down to make steel. Pig iron is the product of smelting iron ore with coke and limestone in a blast furnace. The iron was called pig iron, because it ran into a row of molds, said to resemble a row of iron pigs. (from Wikipedia, sorry none of the links work from copied text)

We had great seats! Nice weather…

 

My father-in-law and my husband

 

Nice little ballpark

My husband has been going down with our son and various others for almost 10 years.  They used to get tickets to the Red Sox/ Phillies games, but, that became too much for Dad (he is now 89).  CocaCola Field is just 15 min from Dad’s house in Bethlehem.  Makes going to games much easier.  Apparently it has rained the last five years…it looked like this would be a great night, the sun was out, there were some passing clouds but it looked good…until the 8th inning.  Then it began to sprinkle…then harder, we moved up to under the awning, then harder and we decided to leave.  It was a fun night despite the rain…its is tradition after all.

Our first move

 

It is a tradition!!! RAIN

 

We ran on Saturday morning, it was humid, my body does not like that, it took me all morning to recover.  I am praying for no humidity on Saturday.

This morning was supposed to be a swim, I was up until 1:30AM not being able to sleep…so I stayed in bed…

Tues is a planned short or maybe longer and flat,  slow ride

Wednesday a short 2 mile run and possibly a swim

Thursday a walk and stretching

Friday a short bike or run and stretching.  Friday night is packet pickup and a Newbie meeting that I want to attend even though I have done two…and of course the vendors!!!

Saturday we will be up early to get a good parking spot, last year we were about the 5th car within sight of transition!  NICE!!  OH and NO wetsuit this time for me!!

Hope to have lots to share on Sunday

Happy Tri

Grandma, Cindy

 

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2012 3:23 pm

    Good luck!! I look forward to a race report 🙂

    What will you wear for the swim?

  2. August 13, 2012 4:19 pm

    Have a great race! I’m sure the swim will be better this time. Like I’m telling myself about my last swim, it can only get better, right? No wetsuit sounds like a good idea…Make sure you get acclimated to the water before the race starts, though! (Unless you’re racing in 89 degree water like my friend in the DC area was last month!)

    • August 13, 2012 8:41 pm

      oh must have been like swimming in a hot tub…that is a good idea to acclimate to the water!! And you are right it can only get better!! Thanks

  3. August 13, 2012 6:46 pm

    Sounds like you are ready! Good luck, my friend! We are headed up to the wilderness and won’t be in cell or wireless or anything range until next Tuesday. I will be canoeing and portaging and listening to loons. Saturday I will send you super energetic happy thoughts!

  4. August 13, 2012 10:09 pm

    Good luck on your race!

  5. August 14, 2012 12:14 am

    Wish I could be there to cheer you on! Did a mini tri practice this weekend. I think I have a new favorite sport! I said to Chris after I finished, “Man, your parents are in GOOD shape! This is tough ;)” Enjoy yourself…looking forward to the race report!!

    • August 14, 2012 1:54 pm

      Wish you could too! Good luck with your Tri coming up! Fun to talk with you guys and see Caleb this morning!

  6. August 14, 2012 1:51 pm

    Have a great race and enjoy the venue—I’m doing my no rain dance for you and my friend Fran who is doing the 1/2 on Sunday! Elizabeth

    • August 14, 2012 1:55 pm

      Thanks Elizabeth, I am looking forward to it, my husband did it last year, really well run race!

      • August 14, 2012 2:08 pm

        Make sure you stop by the Make A Wish booth and tell them I said hello. They are an amazing bunch of people and such a wonderful cause. 🙂

  7. August 14, 2012 2:09 pm

    Best of Luck Cindy. Sounds like you have done everything needed to prepare. Now just let it happen and ENJOY!! Looks like a wonderful outing at ‘the game’.
    *anna

Leave a Reply

