Skip to content

I ROCKED IT!

August 19, 2012

My confidence is back, I ROCKED this Sprint triathlon!

The day started by rising at o’dark AM (3 AM)… Getting there early gets you a parking spot just yards from transition! Totally worth getting up that early! We arrived around 4:30AM, dark and the promise of rain, ugh! As I was setting up in transition the rain started, luckily I thought to bring a plastic bag to cover my stuff, and my spot was under a tree! But, rain…bummer.

The rain turned to sprinkles fairly quickly, yeah! And you could see the end of the cloud bank in the distance. Whew! It remained cloudy through the whole race which helped the energy level!

I did not wear a wet suit! The water was nice and warm, and very clear and shallow! I probably could have walked the whole way! But I swam instead.
The Bike was hilly, I had rode the route earlier in the summer. I read in the latest Inside Triathlon magazine that gearing down on the hills saves energy! I was able to pass a few people on the hills!
The run is basically flat, along the lake and very pretty!

Here are the stats:
Swim: 10:13 (.2 miles)
T1: 3:03
Bike: 1:08:43 (15 miles)
T2 and run: 38:11. (3.1 miles) New timing company, no separate T2 time…I estimated at least 1:30, and then there was the pitstop during the run, 3:00 aprox…that means the run was about 33:30, are you kidding me…I don’t think I have ever run that fast!
Total time: 2:00:09
I am really happy with my time!

My husband really ROCKED IT! He placed 3rd in his age group! He was elated, his goal was to place in the top 10 of his age group.

20120818-204453.jpg

I am happy!

Grace,
Grandma
Cindy

17 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2012 1:16 am

    Woo Hoo! Awesome job, you did rock it! Congratulations 🙂

  2. August 19, 2012 1:16 am

    Saw a shirt at the race today and thought of you. It said: She swims, she bikes, she runs. She ROX.
    Loved cheering you on Mom!

  3. August 19, 2012 10:52 am

    Fantastic job – you sure did rock!

  4. August 19, 2012 11:06 pm

    Way to go! I did a Sprint Tri once and training for the swim was so hard. Enjoy your ROCKSTAR status!

  5. August 20, 2012 3:16 pm

    AWESOME job Cindy!! Way to get in the groove.
    *anna

  6. August 21, 2012 12:43 pm

    Congrats! So glad the weather held out and you had a great race!

    • August 21, 2012 2:26 pm

      Thanks, it did, I was so thankful!! Kind of scary riding on wet roads… It was lots of fun.

  7. August 21, 2012 1:12 pm

    WAY TO GO! Maybe next year we will tackle a sprint. Sticking with the running for now, despite the injury. Congrats to you (and your husband) on a great race.

    • August 21, 2012 2:28 pm

      Thanks!! I really do love the Sprint! The training variety is so nice! That said, I am tackling a 10K in Boston, the Tufts Wms 6000 women, bit crowded, but high energy!!

  8. August 22, 2012 11:44 am

    Hooray, Cindy. You are an inspiration!

  9. August 22, 2012 9:39 pm

    You. Are. Awesome! I cannot wait to do a triathlon with you!

Leave a Reply

