Skip to content

The New Training Plan and a Challenge

August 24, 2012

I took Sunday thru Tuesday off.  Wednesday morning I went for a run.  It was a cool and dry morning.  Any direction I go from my house are hills…coming and going… I was ready to challenge myself and run as far as I could with no walk breaks.  Running has been discouraging for me this summer.  I don’t do well in the humidity and walk breaks were numerous on my runs.  But, Wednesday morning was not humid!  I made it two miles, walked about 100 yards and tackled a hill(very steep, but short) walked down and then home…3 miles with two short walk breaks!!!!  I am ready for fall and the cooler not humid temps…

It was a very encouraging run!  Yesterday I did a 23 mile bike, slow, took me 1 hour 45 min.  Again nice morning.  I really wish I could find some ladies to ride with,  my age or at least my speed.  I wished my Amigos lived closer!!

Today was a rest day and tomorrow I plan on running 4 miles.

I love shoes, especially running shoes!!

Lifetime guarantee !

I get to run in these my new shoes!  They are Saucony Kinvara 3’s.  The new socks are Darn Tough they have a lifetime guarantee.   If you wear them out they will replace them, no questions asked.  I like that!

My daughter, over at RunFarGirl helped me figure out a training plan with times to shoot for in speed and tempo work.  I have never done any…should be interesting!

Next race: Tufts Women’s 10K in downtown Boston, October 8th, Columbus Day!!  There are around 6000 women participants…should be fun!

The Challenge:

An open water, OCEAN, swim, in a wetsuit…YIKES!

The local Triathlon Club holds a group, ocean swim on Wednesday evenings at Wallis Sands Beach State Park.  My husband is going to do the Wallis Sands Triathlon and wanted to get some ocean swimming experience.  I went along to watch.  I had to read my book to avoid the panic I felt rising…I was not even in the water…good grief…

Ann, a machinist where John works is an avid Masters swimmer and participates in these ocean swims.  We talked about wetsuits, my experience and fears.  She was so encouraging and helpful, kept telling me to give it a try again, her first wetsuit experience was similar to mine.  She looked at many videos on how to put on a wetsuit and kept trying the ocean swims.  So I am going to give it a try…Next Wednesday…

I hope the waves are not this big!!

I will let you know how it turns out…or if you don’t hear from me…oh don’t go there…

Have a fantastic weekend, spending the day tomorrow celebrating 33 years of marriage to the love of my life!!

Grandma (Cindy)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2012 1:36 am

    I’m not even there and my heart rate went up! I love he ocean, but tackling a swim in it… Good luck with your goals, I know you’ll meet and exceed them… Love the new shoes 🙂

    • August 25, 2012 2:00 am

      thanks for the confidence! Pretty nervous… but facing my fears… First run in the new shoes!!

  2. August 25, 2012 12:38 pm

    YAY for the ocean 🙂 You’re amazing to be facing a fear so directly! Great looking new shoes and dang I’m going to find those sock!! I’ve never heard of a lifetime sock…thanks.

    • August 26, 2012 2:23 am

      Will see how amazing after Wednesday…kind of nervous!! Sock company is in Vermont, Darn Tough. Looking forward to testing their guarantee!

  3. August 26, 2012 1:16 am

    Glad you’re gonna get back out there! Conquer those fears!

  4. August 26, 2012 12:05 pm

    I have got to find those socks! Happy Anniversary.

    • August 27, 2012 1:13 am

      I got them at my local running store, but I think you can order them from the web site. Good luck finding them!

Leave a Reply

