Skip to content

Ocean Swim DONE!!

August 30, 2012

I am pleased to report that I did not get eaten by a shark, nor tossed by the waves or strangled by the wetsuit!!

Beautiful light, no chop!

There were a group of about 20 + people, all ages, and abilities.  Many of the group are members of a Masters Swim Club.    I swam nearly a mile, much shorter than most of the others, but I was happy with the distance.

Ann, my husband’s co-worker gave me lots of tips on getting the wetsuit on.  It felt better than it did at the Black Fly.  I still feel like my butt is sticking up in the air I am so buoyant.

See I survived!

I am even going next week…did I just say that…

Aside from conquering my fear of wetsuit and ocean, I am training for a 10K on Columbus Day… here is a rundown of the last few days.

Picnic at New Castle Island after the swim.

Saturday- Humid morning, 4.05 miles, 50:04 min many walk breaks…oh well

Monday – Track workout, speed, well “speed” 3 miles total, I tired to do 4 x 400’s after a 1 mile warm up.  I could make it about 200 m then had to walk, I will keep working on it!!  The mile splits are: Mile 1 – 11:29,  Mile 2 – 11:48, Mile 3 – 11:30.

Lifting: body weight squats for warm up.   5 x 5 reps of squats with a 45 # log;  5x 3 clean and press with same log.  Then a 4 min session of plank 20 sec on 5 sec off.

Tuesday – Rest

Wednesday- 3.53 miles 42:26 ONLY ONE WALK BREAK!!!!!!!!!!!  Mile splits: Mile one 12:04, Mile 2- 12:04,

Mile 3 – 12:08

Ocean Swim – 3/4 of a mile, I have no idea how long it took??

Tomorrow I plan a shorter run, and lifting

Friday – leisurely bike

Saturday – plan on trying for 5 miles, but certainly will do 4.5 miles.  It will be along the shore, while John does his brick on the Wallis Sands Tri Course.

Have a great week…

Grace,

Grandma {Cindy}

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2012 1:31 am

    So happy you enjoyed yourself! Looks like an awesome day for it!!

  2. August 30, 2012 1:49 am

    YOU GO GIRL!!!!
    So proud of you for licking this!

  3. August 30, 2012 3:35 am

    Wow, Cindy!!! Awesome! You did it and no sharks were involved… woot!!! Your training schedule is amazing… you are totally motivating me to jump right in when I get home next month!

  4. August 30, 2012 12:13 pm

    Great Job! Ocean swim conquered 🙂 Nice workouts all around. I still struggle w/ the running. The fitness challenge I’m doing ends this weekend then I’ll be back to focus only on tri training. Thanks for putting up your workouts it’s great to see what you’re doing to prepare.
    *anna

    • August 30, 2012 1:21 pm

      Thanks Anna , I really like the Tri training, the variety… I like the running part, learning how to push myself. Trying not to over do it!

  5. September 2, 2012 10:30 pm

    See – you are one of my inspirations! Great job on the run. Keep at it, you will get there. Love reading your story.

    • September 2, 2012 10:37 pm

      Wow thanks! Going back this week for another swim! Completed 5 miles yesterday, with some walk breaks…I hate humidity!

      • September 2, 2012 10:40 pm

        Sometimes walking is necessary. Sometimes I even end up running faster for taking them! I just signed up for a 10K on Oct 7th – right around when your race is. We will be running together in spirit!

      • September 2, 2012 10:42 pm

        It is true about being faster with walk breaks! Good luck with your 10K!

Leave a Reply

