Skip to content

Training Week 3 for Tufts Women’s 10K

September 7, 2012

Training has been going really well.  I do miss the biking and the swimming, but I am enjoying the running.

I have found a pretty good plan and this week I will top out at 16 miles.  I will be really happy when the humid weather goes away.  According to the weather, we are going to have temps in the low 50’s over night next week!!!!  Makes me happy.

Week recap:

Saturday: 5 miles, 1:05

Sunday: Rest

Monday: 3.99 miles, 48:58, average pace:12:17, had I looked at my watch when I got to the car I would have gone the last 10th…oh well

Monday morning at Wallis Sands State Beach, nice and calm then…

John getting ready to ride. He had a flat and then blew his spare, walked back to the car.

Ready to head out!

Tuesday: Rest

Wednesday: It was DARK and RAINY, I went to the gym.  Let me just say I think the treadmill is a necessary evil.  I don’t like it.  The dark I can get used to and will over the winter, but I prefer to not run in the dark and the rain…that said,         3 miles, 36:16

Thursday:  4.08 miles, 49:48, pace 12:15

Friday:  Resting

Saturday :  Going up to North Conway, NH,  John is going to ride up Bear Notch Road (a super HILL), I am going  to run 5 miles.  Then we will have lunch and shopping!!!

Going back to Wednesday we went to the ocean again for a swim.  I had heard that there was a hurricane out in the Atlantic that would be churning up the surf… When we arrived and I got out of the car you could hear the surf pounding…I decided to look first.  I opted out of the swim.  The waves were about 6 feet.  I am not totally comfortable in the wetsuit and the surf would have just added to the verge of panic…John went, he said it was pretty rough.

Swimmers entering the surf

The surf

My brave husband!!

After our picnic on Newcastle Island, this was our treat on the way home.

A great week, looking forward to the run up north tomorrow.

Have a great weekend!!

Grandma Cindy

 

 

 

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2012 12:26 am

    I’d have been a bit intimidated by that surf, as well!!! It sounds like you feel about treadmills the way I do… I don’t like them and I seem to not be able to get into a good rhythm on them.
    One month from today!!! It’s the 8th here in China already… your training will pay off! 🙂

    • September 8, 2012 9:05 pm

      Living in Florida, you can run outside year round, if you can get used to the humidity…

      • September 8, 2012 11:27 pm

        Yes, the humidity is the obstacle of running in Florida. The beach pic at the top of your post looks like a wonderful place to run, although its probably pretty cold there a mont from now!

      • September 9, 2012 10:53 am

        Last winter I ran outside, in the dark, and the cold…2 degrees was my limit last year…and the snow, when it piles up on the side of the road makes it difficult. Will see what this winter brings?

  2. September 8, 2012 2:23 pm

    TM=necessary evil 😦 I LOVE your pictures Cindy. Thanks for the ‘beach’ visit. Your training plan is pretty awesome too! For me, I would love that kind of surf….we went to Cape Cod last summer and it is SO flat there…no surf…
    *anna

  3. September 9, 2012 2:00 am

    That sunset really was a treat. Gorgeous! Great training week!

Leave a Reply

