Skip to content

New Perspective

September 18, 2012

My plan so far was to ramp up the miles on a steady basis…well I hit the wall last week.  I think I was a bit over zealous in my ramping up…I have been looking at Hal Higdon’s training plan for a novice 10K. Only 3 runs, 2 cross trains, and two strength training days.

I think my approach has been all wrong.  So this week I am revising my strategy. Partly I am really impressed that on Sunday I did 5.5 miles in 1 hour 13 min…not bad, and I didn’t collapse at the end!!!  I know I can run 6 after a short running week…

The plan for the week:
Monday:  Lifting and stretching
20 body weight squats to warm up
45# dead lift warm up x 10
95# dead lift 3 x 5
3 x 5 glute/hamstring raises
3 x 10 ab lifts
Tuesday:  3 miles working on some speed sections
Wednesday: supposed to rain…cross train, perhaps a crossfit work out.
Thursday: 3/4 miles
Friday : rest
Saturday : 6 miles  whoohoo
Now the challenge is to stick to this!!
We have been enjoying really cool overnight temps.  I love fall!!  Soon the color will be upon us…

View from the “Parking Lot” (a field) at the Sandwich Fair, Sandwich, NH

 

In my front yard

I have also been doing a lot of sewing…have some upcoming craft fairs for my business…here are some of the fruits of my labors.

These were fun to make!!

I hope you are having a good week!!

 

 

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2012 2:37 am

    Those bags are adorable!

  2. September 18, 2012 4:44 am

    I can’t wait to get home and on a training schedule!!! Yours looks daunting 🙂 The bags are sweet! What’s in them?

    • September 18, 2012 12:11 pm

      I actually will be glad for a break in training! More bike riding! Nothing in the bags, you could use them as gift bags or project bags, or small things when you are packing for a trip…
      Have a safe trip home!

  3. September 18, 2012 5:02 pm

    Sounds like a good perspective. Honestly, less is more. Fatigue is always a too late sign. I’m taking my own advice 🙂 Love your bags! You inspire me! Can’t wait to have my own space again to be creative 🙂

    • September 18, 2012 5:12 pm

      Yes it feels strange to not be planning more runs, but I was amazed on Sunday morning how I was able to go 5.5 and still have something left! Looking forward to having you guys around more!

  4. September 19, 2012 11:43 am

    Cindy, I love that you post your training, it gives me a good idea of what to do… I’m in the market for a proper bike (the one I have is more of a cruiser) any suggestions? I sure don’t want to mess up a big buy like a bike ;/

    • September 19, 2012 1:28 pm

      Anna, My comment started getting really long…send me your email and I will give you the low-down…

      • September 20, 2012 4:47 pm

        aigeinbean [at] lavabit [dot]
        Thanks Cindy I would really appreciate learning a thing or two before I walk into a bike shop and am relieved of my $$ without any real info.
        *anna

  5. September 20, 2012 4:47 pm

    Cindy, sorry, that would be dot com…

  6. September 21, 2012 3:15 am

    I have to start focusing on cross training. I get my runs in every week but that’s about it. You are so smart to plan your non-running days too. Oh, and I love the bags. You are very talented.

    • September 21, 2012 12:37 pm

      Yes I miss my bike…I will be glad for this race to be done…need a training break…work on the weight and strength. Thanks for the compliment on the bags, I love making them as much as I love buying them…LOL

Leave a Reply

