Skip to content

Tufts Women’s 10K – Done!!

October 10, 2012

Race day dawned sunny and chilly.  Perfect for running.  The race start was noon, so I was up at my usual 6:30 AM and went to the fitness center and rode the recumbent bike for about 30 min.  Breakfast at the hotel and then packed up and left for Boston.

Stretching before the race.

I was nervous and the thoughts running through my head were mostly feeling, who am I kidding running a 10K.  I struggle with my weight, and feeling like I don’t deserve to call myself a runner.  My husband asked me how I was feeling and I told him I was nervous…but, not why.  His questions to me were:  “Have you trained?”   answer: Yes. ” Have you run the distance?”  answer: yes.  “You will be fine!” he told me.  He was right!

my number

Once at the Common in Boston, I began looking around my usual thoughts of comparing myself, and wishing I was a svelte 20 something.  I started to realize how many shapes, sizes, and ages I was seeing.  Mom’s, daughters, friends of all sizes.    All these women calling themselves runners!  All 8000 of them celebrating women being active!  And I was among them.

We were quite a bit early, so I started my port-a-potty visits.  Yes visits, I start when I get to a race and keep going till the gun goes off.

They started calling for us to seed ourselves, starting with the fast ones and finally getting around to us at the back.  I thought I was toward the back, but according to my husband was more toward the middle.  Maybe that is why so many passed me…I started to think I would be at the end soon, but when we made the first turn I realized I would never be running alone…NICE!!

The first half mile I felt sick to my stomach, just nerves I think, I settled in and found my rhythm.

Here I come. #2126

Smiling…still the first half mile!!

 

I wished I had a camera, let me just say I love BOSTON!!  The route took us down Beacon Street to Mass. Ave, across the Mass. Ave. bridge to Cambridge and up and down Memorial drive, then back across the bridge, up Comm. Ave. (I long to live there). back to Beacon around the common and finish on Charles St.  The view from Memorial Drive is across the Charles River and the City scape in the background.  It was beautiful!!!

I was so amazed that I was able, for the most part, to run the race I wanted.  I took a walk break of a tenth of a mile, each mile.  There were a couple of other very short walk breaks at the water stops.  My time was: gun time 1:18:25, chip time 1:16:32. Average pace: 12:18. Very Happy!

The finish line

My love and my support!!!

 

We spent the whole weekend in Boston, my daughter-in-law’s family is from the Bean-town area.  Parties, dinner and food galore!!  Danielle (Endurancegal check out her blog) and her brother Will also ran on Sunday, the BAA Half Marathon, that race is from the Franklin Park Zoo down to the Fenway neighborhood and back around the Zoo.  Fun to cheer them on!!

Mike, Will, Danielle

Not sure what is next…I am doing a bike ride on Saturday, the local Trek store sponsors a Breast Cancer Awareness ride. I choose the 25 mile route, should be fun.  I have been looking for some 5K’s this fall and winter.  I found one in December, a 5K on snowshoes!!  Sounds fun!!

Gonna head out for a ride tomorrow!  Maybe a run on Friday…the weather is not being very nice…cold and rainy…the cold I don’t mind,  but riding in the rain…not so much.

Thanks for all the encouragements along the way.  Will post through the winter but perhaps less frequently.

Have a great day and Happy Fall!!

Grandma, Cindy

19 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2012 5:31 pm

    Congratulations Cindy!! You are amazing and your time is outstanding!

  2. October 10, 2012 7:43 pm

    WOWEEE!! Nice job! Congratulations! Your time is indeed amazing, especially considering that you also walked!

    Oh, and yes, do the Trek Bike Ride for 25 miles, take your camera. I’ll be doing the same ride in Omaha–so it’ll be like we’re doing it together. We’ll both post photographs at the end of the day! 🙂

    • October 11, 2012 1:24 am

      Thanks, it was a fun race. Sounds great, I will take my camera and get lots of pictures!!!

  3. October 10, 2012 7:56 pm

    Wow, Cindy! Great time! And you sound like you had fun, which is the most important thing! Good luck with “training” this winter…I’m already having to kick my derriere out the door (definitely a warm weather runner) and we have only been in the 30’s a couple days….

    • October 11, 2012 1:30 am

      Thanks, yes it is getting cool here too, but I love the cooler weather, just bundle up.

  4. October 10, 2012 11:46 pm

    Congratulations! Sounds like a great race. I’m always inspired by all the different shapes, sizes, and ages I see at local runs and triathlons.

  5. October 11, 2012 2:56 am

    You are AMAZING!!! Congrats 🙂

    • October 11, 2012 2:02 pm

      Thanks, but really HOW ARE YOU??? Missing your posts. Are you recovering well? Cindy

      • flamidwyfe permalink
        October 12, 2012 2:13 am

        Worn out, will write a post tomorrow 🙂

  6. nomeatbarefeet permalink
    October 11, 2012 11:45 am

    Great job! Looks and sounds like a lot of fun. 10ks are one of my favorite distances. Boston is a place I know very little about. Having family there must make for some wonderful trips. Enjoy the fall/winter season…can’t wait to hear about that snowshoe race! Might do one too.

    • tri-grandma-try permalink
      October 11, 2012 2:16 pm

      Thanks, it was a fun race! Boston is one of my favorite cities!!! You should visit sometime!!

  7. October 11, 2012 11:08 pm

    Great race! BTW, the idea of a 5K on snowshoes sounds like a lot of fun.

  8. October 12, 2012 1:15 am

    Cindy! You look awesome and like you are having a great time. I do the tenth of a mile walk break every mile when I’m not doing my regular Galloway intervals. I’ve only been to Boston one time. Glad you had so much fun. Congrats!

  9. October 19, 2012 3:58 pm

    Wow, congrats!! This was a fun post to read and I loved the pictures! Thanks for stopping by my blog and following! Look forward to reading more of your posts!

Leave a Reply

