Skip to content

Trek Women’s Breast Cancer Awareness Ride

October 14, 2012

If you read my “About” page you will meet my friend Bonnie, she is a two time cancer survivor.  Most recently (7 years ago) her battle was with Breast Cancer.  I rode Saturday in her honor. Unfortunately Bonnie had to work and could not ride as well. 😦

I knew it would be chilly, cold in the morning.  Well when I got up it was 30 degrees, the ride was to start at 10, I don’t know for sure but it was maybe 35 at that time, oh and did I mention the wind

Getting the ride ready

I moved this to the rear, did not want it flapping at me.

 

As we gathered in the Parking lot of the Trek Store in Portsmouth, NH,  I was hoping to stay warm!  We started and had to stop at the entrance to the parking lot for the light…when it changed green the group started…there was a young girl (12) in front of me, I was close behind her I thought she was going left so I went right…she went right…I went down in the intersection.  I am glad the little girl did not go down…BUT how embarrassing!!!!  In an intersection no less…  Broke my fall with my hip and elbow, nothing broken…well maybe my pride…Luckily I had on so many layers I did not get road rash. But I am a bit stiff today.

The road was supposed to be 25 miles, I did not take my Garmin, but mapping it out it was more like 28 miles. It was a GORGEOUS!  morning, no clouds!  Our ride took us down Route 1A along the coast to Hampton Beach and then back through Rye, NH.  The ocean was flat and blue!  The town of Rye is idyllic, beautiful homes, trees changing.  Here are the few photos I took.  Did not stop too many times, just enjoyed the ride.

Pit stop along the way…

No clouds, beautiful ocean!

Beautiful day Isle of Shoals in the distance (6 miles out)

Sorry about the pictures, having some issues with sizing…

Hope you have a great week…

Grandma

 

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2012 10:06 pm

    Yikes! It would seem both of us crashed! Glad neither of us were hurt. 🙂

    Yea you! congratulations! Heal quickly my friend!

    • October 14, 2012 10:31 pm

      I am really stiff today… Hip and elbow… Glad no one was hurt! Great job on your ride!

  2. October 15, 2012 1:31 am

    Looks like a beautiful day for a long ride!!

  3. October 15, 2012 2:10 pm

    Glad you didn’t get hurt. I want to ride more but I have to get a good bike.

  4. October 15, 2012 2:24 pm

    Glad you are fine and enjoyed a beautiful day and a wonderful cause.

  5. October 15, 2012 3:29 pm

    Thankfully pride mends more quickly than a bone! Heal up. Looks like it was a beautiful day in spite of the fall.

  6. October 15, 2012 7:05 pm

    how’s about a nice hot bath w/ some Epsom salt and lavender 🙂

Leave a Reply

