Skip to content

Winter Workout Plan…not quite

October 23, 2012

This week was supposed to begin my “Winter Workout Plan”.  Supposed to…  Monday started out fine, I walked downtown, pushing my Granddaughter in the stroller, It was an amazingly humid day, not super warm, but the humidity made it seem hot.  The trees are beautiful at the moment and the sidewalks covered with leaves.  I really love fall!

Love colors of fall

I decided not to run mostly because I was sore from the bike ride and crash on Saturday…Sunday laying in bed I was poking around my ribs trying to get to the spot that hurt, there was this “pop”  sound, kind of like when you back or neck cracks…I think I might have dislocated a rib and it popped back.  It did not hurt, but I was a bit startled by the noise and sensation.  It is a bit sore doing certain things but, mostly not noticeable.

Then I got sick, I have not had a cold in a very long time…I guess I was due, so Wednesday was a couch kind of day, a bit better on Thursday.

Getting back into lifting is on the “WWP”, I lift on Mondays and Thursdays at a friends small garage gym, Vinny’s Gym.

Here is the weeks rundown:

Monday: 3 mile walk pushing stroller.  Lifting: Warm Up:  Air squats, band pull a parts, step overs, dislocates, jumping jacks a set of 12 each.  Dead Lifts: 1 set of 10, 45# bar; set of 6 65#;  3 sets of 5 at 85#.  overhead press, 5 sets of 5 45#, dumbbell row, 3 sets of 12 15#;  One set of 20 goblet squats 15#.

Tuesday: Run 3 miles, 38:01, windy, sunny, beautiful.

Wednesday: sick, couch potato

Thursday: Lifting:  Warmup set of 20 each, air squats, band pull a parts, dislocates, step overs, jumping jacks.  Squats: set of 10 warm up, with bar only#45; set of 4 at 65#;  two sets of 5 85#.  Bench Press: 10 at 45#; 5 at 50#; 5 at 60#; 5 at 60#.  ring rows: 3 sets of 8 with a 15# sandbag.

Friday:  Rest, well very busy day got in the way.

Saturday: VERY Foggy when I got up…3.3 miles in the foggy drizzle, but saw three turkeys and a piliated  woodpecker, made my day!!  Really slow…40 min.

Sunday:  Walked to church about a 2 mile walk, Beautiful morning!

That about sums it up.  More soon!

Grandma Cindy

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2012 6:40 pm

    A Pileated Woodpecker? AWESOME! my honey and I got to watch a pair in Minnesota’s BWCA this past August . . . sitting on a log jutting out into the lake, dipping down and drinking water, then they chased a squirrel up and down a tree just barely enough into the forest that we could watch. They are amazing birds!

  2. October 23, 2012 11:21 pm

    So sorry to hear about your crash! If you dislocated a rib, you would know it. Not too many things are more painful than a dislocated or fractured rib. Good work powering through despite being sick!!

    • October 24, 2012 4:10 pm

      Yeah that is what I thought, maybe a tad out of place…? Brushes are gone and so is soreness!

  3. October 24, 2012 2:21 am

    Glad to see you’re feeling better!! I saw some wild turkeys off the interstate last week! They are beautiful. The red leaves in your pic are gorgeous… Our palm trees don’t tend to change colors in these parts 😀

  4. October 27, 2012 8:36 pm

    I’m with flamidwyfe! That picture is so pretty. That is so scary about the popping noise. I hope you feel better soon.

    • October 27, 2012 11:26 pm

      Feeling better already! still a bit of a twinge Thursday doing Bench Press, but fine now.

Leave a Reply

