Skip to content

Still Crazy after all these years!!!

October 26, 2012

Well, I did it…I signed up for a Half Marathon.  I think I am crazy!  My reason:  I need motivation to keep going.  After running the Tufts 10K, I could feel the laziness begin to set in, not wanting to exercise, but, at the same time not lose what I gained fitness wise preparing for the 10K.

I have ran three other half marathons, that was back in 2005 and 2006.  I know I can do it, even though I am a few years older…at least I hope.

The race is in Hampton, NH on February 24, 2013.  Along the coast should be beautiful and COLD!  Back in 2006 one of the races was in February, in Hyannis, MA.  It snowed 4 inches the night before, was cold, in the teens and windy!!  Such fun!!
I really do like running in the cooler weather.  Was a little wheezy after my run yesterday, may have to renew that inhaler prescription.  The temperature was about 38 degrees.  Last winter the coldest run was at 8 degrees, that is about my limit…and if there is wind it has to be above 20.  Very invigorating to run in the cold, not draining like running in the humid summer.
I found a great plan, I think I mentioned when I was training  for the 10K.  The plans are from a coach named Hal Higdon.  You can find all his plans HERE.
WEEK MON TUE WED THU FRI SAT SUN
1 Stretch & strengthen 3 m run 2 m run or cross 3 m run + strength Rest 30 min cross 4 m run
2 Stretch & strengthen 3 m run 2 m run or cross 3 m run + strength Rest 30 min cross 4 m run
3 Stretch & strengthen 3.5 m run 2 m run or cross 3.5 m run + strength Rest 40 min cross 5 m run
4 Stretch & strengthen 3.5 m run 2 m run or cross 3.5 m run + strength Rest 40 min cross 5 m run
5 Stretch & strengthen 4 m run 2 m run or cross 4 m run + strength Rest 40 min cross 6 m run
6 Stretch & strengthen 4 m run 2 m run or cross 4 m run + strength Rest or easy run Rest 5-K Race
7 Stretch & strengthen 4.5 m run 3 m run or cross 4.5 m run + strength Rest 50 min cross 7 m run
8 Stretch & strengthen 4.5 m run 3 m run or cross 4.4 m run + strength Rest 50 min cross 8 m run
9 Stretch & strengthen 5 m run 3 m run or cross 5 m run + strength Rest or easy run Rest 10-K Race
10 Stretch & strengthen 5 m run 3 m run or cross 5 m run + strength Rest 60 min cross 9 m run
11 Stretch & strengthen 5 m run 3 m run or cross 5 m run + strength Rest 60 min cross 10 m run
12 Stretch & strengthen 4 m run 3 m run or cross 2 m run Rest Rest Half Marathon

This plan is perfect for me…small changes will be, Wednesday will be cross-train, either swim or bike,  I will likely do my long run on Saturday and rest or walk on Sunday.  I will start now following this plan for the next 5 weeks or so, working up to the 6 mile long run.  Then training begins in earnest on December 9th!!!!  I am planning on the runs being outside most of the time, I will run in anything but ice…and because the weather is cooler, running during the afternoon is acceptable.

I have tried to find some running buddies, still looking for someone as crazy as me!!

I am loving how the weather is changing.  Looking like hurricane Sandy will pay us a visit this week, they even say it might snow inland????  But for now enjoying the fall!

A few years ago John and I visited the Laurentians in Quebec these pictures were in late September.

Perfect view for two!

I love the swing with the heart shape on the ends!

The week review without all the gory details:

Bike: 15.5 miles

Lifted two times this week

Swim: 1200 yards

Run: 3 miles, and will run 4 on Sunday morning

Hope your fall is beautiful where you are!

Blessings,

Grandma Cindy

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2012 2:32 pm

    Crazy is what keeps you young! Looking forward to hearing about your training!

  2. October 26, 2012 2:35 pm

    Way to go Cindy…Love that tune btw…now I’ll have that one all day as my soundtrack 🙂

  3. October 26, 2012 2:44 pm

    Good for you Cindy…I’m planning (hoping…lol) to do the Canton (Half) Marathon next June…this is all contingent on winter. I have asthma also, much worse when it’s cold. This will be my 1st winter of running with it…. Good running to you…

    • October 26, 2012 6:21 pm

      Good luck, so far the asthma is not too bad, and I actually think as the cold is consistent, it gets better…good luck on the training!

  4. October 26, 2012 3:16 pm

    wHOO HOOO!! I am thinking about doing a half mary, too. I think I’ll sign up for a 10k first. But I am totally stealing your training schedule. . .

    • October 26, 2012 6:22 pm

      I love this training schedule, it is sane! Go to the website and check out the write up about the training for a novice…very sensible!

  5. October 26, 2012 10:17 pm

    Ambitious is what I’d call ya! Awesome! I’m looking forward to reading your training updates.

  6. October 27, 2012 8:32 pm

    I have a friend that has challenged herself to do 13 halfs in 2013. That means she’ll have to do two in one of the months. My church group is doing the Myrtle Beach half in February. As much as I love the marathon, I must admit I’m looking forward to some shorter distances.
    Oh, and when it’s 30 here in North Carolina this winter, you’ve got to tease me if I wimp out and think it’s too cold! 🙂

Leave a Reply

