Skip to content

Quiet Week, well at least for me…

November 1, 2012

It has been a quiet week for me.  My husband is in India on business, this is day 7, he comes back on Saturday night late.

Hurricane Sandy visited, we really got lucky!   Some rain, some gusty winds, a few pieces of shingles from the roof, a reminder that it needs to be replaced.  I am astounded by the pictures from New York and New Jersey, so sad!!  It will take a long time to rebuild!  Sometimes when the media hypes up a storm like this and we end up being on the fringe we tend to think what was all the hype for…and yet others have lost their homes, and all their earthly possessions.  Others lost their lives.  I am glad the media is showing the devastation that happened in New York and New Jersey,  reminds me to be thankful and to pray for others who didn’t fare so well.

This one in particular hit me…Image taken by Andrew Burton/Getty images

Training has gone well, here is the summary:

Sunday: did my long run before church, 4 miles in 52 min, felt good, nice and chilly!!

Monday: was a rest day, and a hurricane day…

Tuesday: I woke up to quiet winds, and no rain…so I ran outside 3 miles,  really slow…40 min.  Sandy left the air humid!  I really don’t do well in the humidity, and I think I am finally resigned to the fact.

Wednesday:  I was planning on getting up at 5:00am to get to the pool for a swim, at 4:30 when I woke up, I turned off the alarm and slept till 6:30!  While Cora was napping I did a cross-fit style workout:  4 rounds(no rests) : 25 walking lunges with 10# dumbbells, 12 step-ups each leg, 10 push-ups (knees down), 10 press-ups with 10# dumbbells.  Heart rate was pumping at the end!  And this morning I am SORE!

Thursday:  will attempt a 3 mile run.  may walk a bit the way my legs feel…

Friday is a rest day!!!!

Saturday:  will be a long run of 4 miles

Thankful for the sunshine, my home intact, power on…

Hope you have a great weekend!

Grandma Cindy

 

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2012 4:58 pm

    Have a nice run and I am so glad to hear that you are okay! Stay safe!

  2. November 1, 2012 6:43 pm

    Good for you! We were supposed to go to the gym today (my first day back since last Friday), but my honey put on new levelor blinds on last night and they work. We slept til 7:30! New windows=new window treatments. 🙂

    I like the cross workout that you did, what a great idea.

  3. November 2, 2012 2:33 am

    Glad you weathered the storm safely!!

Leave a Reply

