Skip to content

The dreaded Treadmill…

November 8, 2012

This morning dawned gray and rainy, with about 3 inches of snow on the ground.  I wanted to get my run in in the morning and knew it would not be wise to be out on the roads, slightly plowed, and crazy first snow of the year drivers…so I went to the gym….

I really dislike hate the treadmill.  Yes, it serves its purpose on days like this but, I could only manage 3 miles…just didn’t have it in me for that last half mile…  I would rather freeze my butt off than run inside.  So this winter I am hoping to only run inside when I absolutely have to,  I think I will need to do speed drills or hill repeats on the treadmill, it is so boring!!!

Last Saturdays run was pretty good, 4 miles, 50:50,12:41 pace.  The last three miles negative splits!  The best part of the day was my husband arrived home from his trip to India!

Sunday afternoon we went for a walk at Wallis Sands Beach, the ocean was beautiful and calm, in contrast to the fury of a few days before.  I found a few pieces of sea glass amidst the piles of seaweed washed up on shore.

Monday was a lift day:  we did our regular warm-up.  Then deadlifts: 10 @55#, 3 @ 105# x 2, 10 @ 105#;  dumbbell overhead press, 3 sets of 10 @ 15# each hand;  goblet squats 10 @ 20#, two sets of 10 @ 25#;  ring rows, 3 sets for 10; Abs, crunches on a saddle thing, not sure what to call it?  2 sets of 10 and 1 set of 20.

Tuesday:  It was 27 degrees this morning!!!  Love it!  Did a few warm up squats and stationary walks to get pre warmed up.  Doesn’t work for fingers, but by the end I have taken my gloves off…  3.7 miles, a hilly route, 46:01, 12:26 pace.

Wednesday:  Went for a brisk 2 mile walk in the morning, not quite as cold…30 degrees.

Thursday: The dreaded treadmill run…3 miles, 35:34, stretched a bit, later today is lifting.

Friday is my day off, I will be sewing up a storm, have a craft fair a week from Sunday.

Saturday I plan a 5 mile run.

My backyard this morning.

The beautiful male cardinal would not hold still, so just the back yard…

 

I hope you are having a great week, and have a super weekend.

Grandma Cindy

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2012 8:20 pm

    I know the treadmill is boring, on the bright side – you ran your fastest pace on it! Intervals actually go by easier, mixing it up helps. Music too. Good luck!

    • November 9, 2012 1:57 am

      It is true you can pick your pace…need to work on speed, will probably do that every so often.

  2. November 8, 2012 9:39 pm

    Ugh, treadmills…3 miles is about my max, too. You’re right, intervals or hill workouts might make the time go faster!

    • November 9, 2012 1:59 am

      Hoping that the weather is not too bad so most of my training can be outside…will mix it up when I have to go to the gym.

  3. November 9, 2012 12:29 am

    Way to go on that treadmill run! That sounds looks so COLD. I have to get the little bud a snowsuit 🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. November 9, 2012 2:59 am

    I feel exactly the same way about the treadmill! Your backyard looks cold… lol. I woke up yesterday morning in the Florida panhandle and it was 39 degrees… i like my warm south Florida much better!

  5. November 9, 2012 1:06 pm

    I run the treadmill at the Y and we are limited to 30 minutes each “turn”, so longer runs outside will have to be worked in around our ugly weather. Challenging myself to doing my “speedwork” on the treadmill also…seems like a good plan, anyway. Good luck with your winter training!

    • November 9, 2012 2:59 pm

      Wow, 30 min…we are members of a Planet Fitness, big place…tons of treadmills and not many busy at 5:30 am…Yes will have to do something creative…

  6. November 9, 2012 11:44 pm

    I don’t like the treadmill very much either but now that the time has changed I will have to do more and more workouts there. It is still dark when I leave for work and get home. We have Netflix and I watch it on my husband’s ipad. I’m currently loving Lost. (I didn’t watch any of that series when it was on television.) Great job on your workouts this week.

Leave a Reply

