Skip to content

Red Curry Beef Stew

November 19, 2012

I have been eating mostly Paleo…mostly.  I am staying away from grains especially and beans(which is not hard, not a big fan of beans).  I purchase Everyday Paleo Cookbook by Sarah Fragoso.  I think it has become one of my favorite cookbooks!  I also love cookbooks that have a picture with every recipe!

So stay tuned for some recipe posts!

This week I made Red Curry Beef Stew:

This is a Crock Pot recipe!!!!

2 pounds stew meat

1 TBSP Thai red curry paste

1 can coconut milk

1/4 cup chicken stock

1/2 head purple cabbage cut into large chunks

3 yams (sweet potatoes) cut into chunks

My addition: pearl onions…I did not buy the cans i bought fresh, kind of a pain to peel because they are so small.  But, I think they were an wonderful addition.

Put stew meat directly into the crock pot, add the Thai Curry Paste and stir to coat.  Then add the coconut milk and chicken stock and stir.  Add the rest of the ingredients.  Cover and cook on low for a few hours and then high, a total of 6-8 hours.  I stirred the stew after a few hours.

We had company so I made cornbread.  Dinner was a hit!  Some of the sweet potato falls apart and thickens the sauce.

Sorry I did not take a picture.

As for training:

Saturday was a gorgeous day!!!!  I was in Portsmouth in the morning and decided to run there after my meeting.  My route was from downtown to Newcastle Island.  The whole time along the river, beautiful homes, beautiful views.  Not rich enough for an iphone to take photos…sad.  5 miles 1:03, ave. pace 12:40

Monday was a lift day:  we did walking lunges, dumbbell overhead press, romanian dead lifts, ring rows, each activity done in 30 sec intervals with a minute rest and 3 sets worth.  Leg raises and crunches (3 sets of 10).

Tuesday;  Lazy stayed in bed…

Wednesday: gym 4 miles on the eliptical in 40 min…wish I could post 10 min miles running…

Thursday: Ran 3.8 miles in 50 min…slow… tweeked my back yesterday,  just taking it easy.  Lifting, pretty much the same as above…30 sec on 3 sets, goblet squats #15, lateral step ups with #15, ring, bench press with dumbbells #10, and something else that escapes my mind …

Friday:  Rest day

Saturday: another Gorgeous day.  My husband and I went for a bike…about 16-17 miles.  Nice!!

Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!!

Grandma Cindy

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2012 4:11 pm

    Cindy this sounds like the perfect winter meal! I love curry 🙂

  2. November 21, 2012 6:49 am

    Yum. I love curry! Great job on the elliptical. Keep pushing it on there, and you will see improvement in your runs, no doubt! Can’t wait…

Leave a Reply

