Skip to content

Strength training makes you faster!

November 28, 2012

I think I am getting faster…running that is.  It still feels painfully slow, but on Sunday I ran my typical 3 mile route and my average pace was 12:04, my time 37:43.  The last time I ran the same route my time was 43:02, average pace was 13:51…AND on Thanksgiving Day I did 2 miles with an average pace of 11:57.

I honestly think that the workouts at Vinny’s Gym have really made a diference!  Here is an example:

Warm up consists of 12 – 15 reps of air squats, pull-aparts with an elastic band, step-overs(raising knee to a 90-degree angle in front, then bring around to side and down, then back up and to the front), dislocates (take a long piece of PVC or broom stick, grab more than shoulder width and raise arms up and over head to the back, and reverse), jumping jacks.

A note about the dislocates, I have had trouble with my shoulder when laying on the floor and stretching my arms over my head.  There was always a catch spot and it would hurt….no more!!

Well, that was just the warm-up!

Our workout generally consists of 4 activities.  When we started a few weeks ago we were doing each activity three times for  30 seconds, resting one minute between sets. We are now up to 40 seconds.  Working toward a 1 minute set…at which point my whole body will be jello for a few hours.

These are the activities:

Walking lunges with dumbbells in hand, started with 10#, up to 15# now.

Seated overhead press with dumbbells, 10# is enough…the third set is a killer!!

Romanian dead lifts, a dead lift with dumbbells, started with 15# now at 20#

Goblet squats – squat with one dumbbell held against the chest bent elbows 20#

Dumbbell bench, a bench press with dumbbells 10#

Step-ups and lateral step-ups with weights usually 15#, step needs to be low enough to not be a strain.

Ring rows rings hanging from a bar, body straight, at an angle, bringing chest up to rings.

Usually we do two upper body, two lower body.

Then…we do abs, this week it was 3 sets of crunches on an exercise ball…ouch!

These have made me stronger and faster!!  Today I did 4 miles (It was SNOWING!!!!!), last time I did this route, which is all up hill on mile 4…my time was 56:57.  Today my time was 50:42!!!!!!!!!!!!!  SIX minutes faster!!!!!

Love it and loved running in the snow!!

Have a great day!

Grandma Cindy

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2012 3:15 am

    Way to go Cindy!

  2. November 28, 2012 3:24 am

    You. Are. Awesome!!!

    • November 28, 2012 3:35 am

      Well, not sure about Awesome…faster and stronger…yes. Thanks for the encouragement!

      • November 28, 2012 7:24 pm

        You motivated me yet again to work harder. Thank you!

  3. November 29, 2012 3:28 am

    You are amazing! That is on heck of a workout.

    • November 29, 2012 3:47 am

      Getting stronger that is for sure!!! Checking into the heart rate training you have been talking about…

  4. December 2, 2012 12:10 am

    Woo Hoo! I agree that strength training makes you faster 🙂

Leave a Reply

