Skip to content

Let the Training begin!

December 12, 2012

This week marks the start of the Twelve week plan for the Half marathon I plan to run in February. I was ramping up earlier and then a couple of weeks ago felt really exhausted. I scaled back and decided to follow the plan rather than double the long runs over the twelve weeks…glad I did. I might have worn myself out! Not getting any younger you know!

I have also purchased Heart Rate Monitor Training by John L. Parker. I have been running with my monitor for about a week. Just using the formula…going to figure out max heart rate tomorrow. So far I am impressed that when I keep my heart rate at a consistent rate (70%), I am able to keep running…slowly for sure, but I think that is the point (still reading). Looking forward to finding my max and resting heart rates, then formulating a plan.

At Vinny’s Gym we have really been ramping up the strength and conditioning, which in part, with the added mileage is most likely why I am tired…we have on more week of increase…this is what we have been doing:
Our usual warm up is a set of 10 of these activities; body weight squats, dislocates, step overs, pull
a parts and jumping jacks.
We then have 4 activities, we have worked up from sets of 30 seconds, to 1 minute…this week we are at 50 seconds. The activities are walking lunges, holding 20# dumbbells, Romanian dead lifts(deadlifts using dumbbells instead of a straight bar), I use 25# two of them…total of 50#!, ring rows, overhead press 10# each arm (these are killers), bench press with dumbbells. Fifty seconds is just short of eternity, eternity comes next week at 1 minute!

I began my holiday baking today! Made Nuts and Bolts, my grandmother’s version of chez mix! Not even remotely low carb…but once a year treat.

20121212-125143.jpg

Hope you all are well!
Grandma, Cindy

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jo jayne permalink
    December 12, 2012 7:51 pm

    amazing , focused lady

  2. December 13, 2012 2:11 pm

    Oooooo…that looks yummy. Good for carbo loading, too! How do you find the time to do all the strength/conditioning/running AND make goodies??!!

  3. December 13, 2012 2:55 pm

    Awesome training plan Cindy!! I am so intimidated by the tech gadgets but I hear a lot of folks use them to really help their workouts. Must consider this. Have a great week…nice nuts & bolts šŸ˜‰
    *anna

Leave a Reply

