Skip to content

What is going on?

January 4, 2013

My morning began as a normal Friday morning, I meet a friend at Panera for breakfast.  I felt fine…a bit of a cough left, and coughed a few times, then got up to get some water and felt like something pulled just below my shoulder blade on the left side.  The kind of pain that it is difficult to take a deep breath, and some movements hurt.

Later as I was putting on my running clothes, I began to wonder if I should go and if I did would I hurt myself more?  My son and daughter in law are with us and Danielle is a physical therapist, and a runner, check out her blog here. I asked her about it and she gave me some ideas for trying to manipulate my back with a foam roller.  Not much success at least in the pain department.  She suggested that running was not a good idea.  So I did not go.

This is discouraging to say the least.  I am wondering if it really was a wise thing to sign up for this half marathon.  I have run once since Christmas Day.  I was hoping to do a longish run this weekend???  Time and patience.  The question is do I have these???

On a happier note, my husband and I went snowshoeing last Sunday afternoon.  It was lovely.  Here are some pictures.

I always have a funny look when doing a self portrait.

I always have a funny look when doing a self portrait.

 

IMG_2140

I always think of the line from the Robert Frost poem…”The woods are lovely, dark and deep”

To get to the woods we had to go across a field.  It was VERY windy.  When we came back our tracks were totally covered.  No trace that we had walked across the field.  No wonder people can get lost in the snow!

 

IMG_2143

Trying to stay to the side so as to not mess up the ski tracks.

IMG_2144

The clouds were beginning to “blow” away

We really love the snow!  Hope to get in some skiing this winter, as well as more snowshoeing!

Grace,

Grandma, Cindy

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2013 8:00 pm

    You are so adventurous! 🙂

    Take care to heal, my friend!

  2. January 5, 2013 1:24 am

    Wow! Beautiful snow. I still have a cough left and I am wondering if I should run my long run tomorrow. Get well wishes coming your way!

  3. January 5, 2013 4:35 am

    The Nomeatbarefeet duo sends you some get-well-soon vibes!

  4. January 6, 2013 11:13 am

    Hoping this finds you feeling better….if not, take time to heal. Enjoy the snow and relax!

  5. January 7, 2013 1:31 pm

    Hope you’re healed! Robert Frost = My favorite poet 🙂

Leave a Reply

