Skip to content

Things looking up!

January 6, 2013

Well I successfully completed a 4 mile run today!  It was snowing lightly!  Sunday mornings are really nice this time of year.  The roads are relatively quiet, which is important because the sides of the road are full of snow banks almost as tall as me.

My knees are feeling the inactivity of the last two weeks, just a tad sore.  I find that running outside is hard on the knees, but the treadmill, is bad for two reasons: 1. It is TOTALLY boring! 2.  My knees don’t get used to the hard ground.  The last time I ran a half marathon in the winter was 2005, and most of my training was inside…bad move…My knees were so bad during the race that I walked a good portion of it.  So I run outside, and I love the fresh air, also good to get in some sunshine.

I will pick up on the regular training this week, I am a bit behind, will do two 4 mile runs this week and 5 on Saturday.  As far as lifting we have finished our build up and have done some interesting circuits.  Here is an outline of last weeks workouts:

Warmup:  21 Jumping jacks, 14 body weight squats, 7 pushups, 21 crunches, 14 reverse lunges, 7 pushups, 15 pull aparts, 15 dislocates, 15 stepovers.  Yes that is just the warm up!

Power deadlifts 45# 3 sets of 5, Power bench press bar only 3 sets of 5, Kettlebell swings 25# 3 sets of 10.

Then…3 sets of the first 6 activities of the warm up.

My husband and I took another walk in the woods today.  No snow shoes, the trails are pretty packed down and we really didn’t need them.  It was 38 degrees, really warm!  We went to Wagon Hill Farm in Durham, NH.  Beautiful town park, and massive sledding hill, which was packed.  The trails along the river were quiet and beautiful!

The woods are beautiful.

The woods are beautiful.

IMG_2156

My husband said are you sure you want to take this with the sun behind us…

Now, we are watching football, a fire in the fireplace, and soon to get take-out!!  Lovely Day!

Grace,

Grandma, Cindy

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2013 10:09 pm

    Sounds like your shoulder is better!

  2. January 8, 2013 4:39 pm

    What a great workout, day, and walk in the snow! 🙂
    Four miles? You are rocking it, girl!

Leave a Reply

