Skip to content

Warming Trend

January 20, 2013

Yesterday and today have been beautiful “warm” days.  I think the temperature yesterday was 60!  My granddaughter asked her Mommy if it was summer…. Not yet for sure.  The blue skies are welcome after several days of clouds and fog.  Bleak was the best word to describe how the landscape looked over the weekend.  The snow is melting, our driveway is finally clear, the snow along the roads is black and ugly.

Training has had its ups and downs…Last week I went to the gym to run on the treadmill for a speed workout.  I was going to do 4 miles.  My first speed interval I went up too fast and tweaked my hamstring on the right…I hopped off to stretch, thinking that it just needed to be stretched…but the pain (dull) did not go away, so I quit after two miles and stretched for a long time.  Walking around I did not really feel it, I iced a bit and rolled and stretched.

That afternoon was lifting and really did not feel it at all, I took it easy, well sort of, here is the workout.

Warm-up: 21 high knee to elbow, 14 squats, 7 pushups, 21 pull-aparts, 14 step-overs, 7 dislocates.  Bench press 45# for 5, 55# for 5, 65# for 5, dumbbell overhead press 3 sets of 8 15# each hand. broad jump, did 6, romanian deadlift, 2 sets of 15 with 40#.  Then 2 more sets of the knee to elbow, squat and pushup sequence.

Friday was a rest day, did some stretching and foam rolling.

Saturday was 5 miles, it was drizzling, about 38 degrees, I have been working on using the Heart Rate Monitor, my goal so far has been Zone 2, which for me is HR 124-137.  I usually hit that in the first couple of minutes of my run…which is always up-hill from my house.  I have to walk to keep my heart rate in that zone…but I usually don’t, so my watch is constantly singing at me.  I try to keep it under 145 and if it goes to 150 I walk.  Even with the walking my mile splits are not horrible:

Mile one – 13:28;  Mile two- 13:45;  Mile three – 13:37;  Mile 4 – 12:57;  Mile 5 – 12:47, notice the negative splits!!!!  My hamstring was a bit tight after the run, but,  I know I am in better shape, I don’t feel so wiped out after a 5 mile run as I did when training for the 10K in the fall.  Yeah!!!!

Yesterday was a lift day, but I went for a 2 mile walk, to enjoy the sunshine!!  This afternoon I did a 4.5 mile run.  Heading off to bed after a good stretch

My husband and I are looking at some big life changes that I will share when they are more confirmed.

Hope you are having a good week.

Grandma, Cindy

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2013 8:33 pm

    I wrote this post last week…forgot to post…

  2. January 20, 2013 11:22 pm

    Hang in there with the zone two training. I know it is frustrating, but you will adjust! Hope your leg is feeling better.

  3. January 21, 2013 4:51 pm

    Wow, awesome job on the negative splits!

Leave a Reply

