Skip to content

Hitches in the plans of life…

January 24, 2013

You plan, you scheme, and yet there are times when life gets in the way.  Well, maybe it is just life happening in all its sometimes craziness!

I signed up for this half marathon when there was nothing on the calendar to prevent me from getting in the training.  But this last two weeks have been so crazy…I am wondering if I really will be able to do this?  Last week my mile total was 16 walk/run.  Monday I went for a two mile walk and then lifting.  I did weight with squats, 4 sets of 5, the last two sets with 85#.  I think it was too much, my run on Tuesday was supposed to be 5 miles, I made 4.6, ave. pace was 13:24.  My legs were soooo tired.  Wednesday I did 30 min. on my bike on the trainer.  REALLY boring!   The gym on Thursday, I should have done 5 miles, but ended up with 3.5.  My legs were so tired again.  I skipped lifting on Thursday afternoon, rested on Friday and did 6 miles on Saturday.  It was an ok run, did it in 1:20, average pace 13:25.  The good thing is that on Saturday afternoon I did not feel like I had been hit by a truck!!!

This week Monday is usually only lifting, but I was going away Monday afternoon and  gone on Tuesday most of the day so I chose to run…bad choice!  My legs were so tired, my 5 mile run went to 4 before I left and then 3 in the end.  Tuesday was a rest day.  This morning I did a cross-fit style work out: 21 knee cross raises, 14 squats, 7 push ups, 21 crunches, 14 reverse lunges, 7 push ups, those two sets 5 times.  Tomorrow is supposed to be a 5 mile run.  The temperature is 5 degrees and the wind is gusting at around 20 mph…I will not be running outside tomorrow. So the challenge becomes running on the treadmill for 5 miles.  I do not think I have run that far on the treadmill in years.  Wish me luck.

Next week my grandson Jack is having surgery.  I could go into the whole explanation but, my daughter has written about it on her blog Run Far Girl.  (click to see), so I don’t know how my running will go…but, that is life, I will live to the full and make the best of the time I have.

On another front, my husband and I are looking at re-locating, most likely in a year.  It is a BIG move for us to another country…so much to think about and to plan and do.  I will fill you all in later.  I am still hoping to get that triathlon in with my amigos, will just have to see if I can fit it in.

Here are my travel plans so far this year:

March: Dubai (yes, this is the country); May: Seattle/Vancouver; June: Arizona; September: Hawaii; October: Romania.  I always said I wanted to travel, this is my year!

I am exhausted just thinking about it all, plus it is bedtime!  Have a great day.

Grandma Cindy

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2013 12:01 pm

    Great travel plans!

    • January 24, 2013 12:05 pm

      Love to travel! Any pointers for life in that region? Where were you in Oman?

      • January 24, 2013 12:17 pm

        I was in Ibri, out in the middle of the desert, always hot and windy. Main advice – get a gym membership for days (July & August) when it is too hot to run outside. Early morning runs in Dubai in March is something to look forward to.

  2. January 24, 2013 5:03 pm

    I lived in Abu Dhabi and LOVED it there, Cindy! It’s an amazing country to live in… you may not want to come back!

  3. January 24, 2013 11:31 pm

    Wow. Good luck. Abu Dhabi? You two women are women of the world! 🙂 Good luck!

  4. January 27, 2013 10:15 pm

    Oh Cindy. I didn’t know about your grandson. I just read your daughter’s blog and please know I will keep him in my prayers. And…all those travel plans. That is awesome.

    • January 27, 2013 10:41 pm

      Good news, his MRI came out fine…now on to step (surgery) #2. Thanks for your prayers!

Leave a Reply

