Skip to content

One week

February 18, 2013

One week today, the Half at the Hamptons   I think I am ready.  The last few weeks my training has been sparse.  I tweaked my groin muscle 3 weeks ago.  In the last three weeks we have had a blizzard that dropped 30 inches of snow on our town…and covered the sidewalks and made 5 foot piles on the sides of the roads…  This all happened on the weekend when I should be doing my long run, so the schedule got changed, but it is working.  My last long run was Tuesday  10 miles.  The temps were in the 40’s which is wonderful except that the snow banks begin to melt leaving puddles to navigate between cars.  At the major intersection that I had to go through the pedestrian button for the crossing was not accessible because of the snow banks…so I got creative, good thing I didn’t get run over.  Looking at my pace and heart rate at the intersection, pace was fast (for me) and heart rate near max.  It didn’t help that I was going through at around 4 PM…

I have also been dealing with some weird muscle spasms.  Under my ribs on the right side, that start in my back.  Went to the massage therapist and she said I have a bit of edema in my lat muscle and my abdominal obliques are super tight and the intercostal between the ribs as well.  The spasms only happen if I am sitting or laying on my back.  Weird…   Stretching and no lifting for a few weeks.

Yesterday morning I did 5 miles, went well, the sun even came out at the end of my run.  A few more short runs this week and the race on Sunday!  I must admit I will be happy to lay off for a while.

Here are some pics from the Blizzard.

The snow drifted  up against the door

The snow drifted up against the door

IMG_2218

After the first snow blower pass, snow still coming down

IMG_2219

The snow over my husband’s knees

IMG_2222

The creek by our house

IMG_2229

I really do love snow

IMG_2233

One of our little pines clothed in snow

Looking at the weather for next Sunday, it keeps changing…of course, at the moment it is snow showers, and 37 for a high.  Hoping for no wind!  At this moment it is howling outside…don’t mind running in the snow, but, not rain and wind.

Have a great week,

Grandma, Cindy

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2013 3:19 am

    That is a LOT of snow!!! I do not like running in snow. It was almost 60 here today, but we are supposed to get up to a foot or more by Thursday! Yuck.

    • February 18, 2013 12:32 pm

      I like running in light snow, no way I could run in deep snow. Did snowshoe on Sunday after the storm!

      • March 17, 2013 12:30 pm

        Egads. And you will live in Dubai for how long? 🙂

        Will you have to sell your house?

      • March 20, 2013 11:34 am

        Hi Sandra, no real restrictions in Dubai…anything goes, that being said I do want to be respectful of the culture. Love the loose fitting tunic, Judy Dench marigold hotel look with a head scarf thrown in! Like it here

      • March 20, 2013 1:08 pm

        Awesome! Enjoy the lack of snow! When do you move for good?

  2. February 18, 2013 3:21 am

    Brrrr!!! I’m a sunny and warm girl! Be safe out there 🙂

  3. February 18, 2013 6:44 pm

    Good Luck! Can’t wait to hear the awesome results!

  4. February 19, 2013 12:28 am

    You have the training in! Enjoy the few days ahead and good luck on the race!

Leave a Reply

