Skip to content

When life gives you lemons

February 23, 2013

Make Lemonade….

Yes the race is cancelled.

Sad, but here is what I can look forward to tomorrow before the storm gets here:

SATURDAY Festivities:

Ashworth by the Sea – Noon – 4 PM

1) Winter Adventure Party: We will be opening up the Ballroom in the Ashworth on Saturday from noon to 4 pm. Here you can enjoy Hot Clam Chowder, Veggie soup, Hot Cocoa, Lindt Chocolate, Stonyfield Yogurt and of course cold Smuttynose Beer. Everyone is welcome.

2) FREE Showers are available at Ashworth: If you choose to go for a run come on back and get warm. (Ask at the front desk)

NOTE: BRING YOUR OWN TOWEL

3) Worlds Shortest Half Marathon: A 13.1 Meter course with finish and start banners will be setup inside the Ashworth – At the end you can get your “finishers” medal.

5) Race T-shirts: Registered runners – Get your nice long sleeve cotton T-shirt inside the ballroom. We have men’s and womens sizes and they are very nice.

6) Door Prizes and music provided. Come one, come all!

New Plan:

They have offered several discounts for races coming up….but….I am going to run the Vancouver, BC half marathon with my daughter Alissa.  When I say “run with”  I mean run at the same time…she is much faster than I.

Half Marathon Map for the 2013 BMO Vancouver Marathon

 

We already  have our tickets and a place to stay blocks from the start.   I was going to watch, because I did not think I could do two half marathons in such a short amount of time.  Seizing the opportunity.  The course is beautiful along the water and with mountains and city views!!!!!  Very excited.

Really not all cancellations are bad!!

Wish me luck on the 13.1 meters tomorrow…I think I can!!!!!!!

Grandma, Cindy

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2013 7:51 am

    I know you can 🙂

  2. February 24, 2013 3:53 pm

    Plan switch-out on the fly ….I LIKE it! Best of running in Vancouver, Cindy!

    • February 24, 2013 3:55 pm

      Thanks, snowing very hard at the moment, would have been a very long wet run…could only crank out 4 miles on the treadmill…I hate that thing!

  3. February 24, 2013 6:45 pm

    Sorry it was canceled! I commend the race organizers for at least having something for those that traveled. Very creative. Good luck in Vancouver!

    • February 24, 2013 10:50 pm

      It has snowed all day…heavy and wet, would have had wet feet from mile one…not comfortable! I am looking forward to Vancouver!

  4. March 17, 2013 12:26 pm

    Well, how did you do?

Leave a Reply

