Skip to content

It is snowing…again…

March 8, 2013

I really do like snow, when it doesn’t interfere with running outside.  We have had quite a bit of snow this year, and there were only a few days when I did not go out.  At the same time I will be so happy to have the weather turn warm and not have to run in the road because the snow piles are so high and the city does not plow the sidewalks near my house.  For the most part this winter I have run outside, cold, snow, wind.  To be honest, nothing new to you who read this blog, my aversion to the treadmill sends me outside in just about any weather.

Today was fun…not snowing very hard when I left for a 4.5 mile run, and not sticking to the roads.  It started snowing harder about halfway.  Oh and the wind picked up.  Big question…why is there always a headwind when running up hill…honestly, I didn’t even notice the wind till I was on the big hill coming home in my last mile.  But I guess wind and hills make me stronger.

I took most of the week after the cancelled Half Marathon off.  Good to rest these bones.  They are getting older.  next month I start my 60th year…turning 59…how can that be?????  I certainly don’t feel like I used to think someone would feel nearing 60.  I intend to keep it that way!!

We leave for our first trip to Dubai a week from today.  Still seems unreal as I look out at the snow coming down.  Temperatures are in the upper 80’s which sound wonderful at the moment.  Will see what running feels like in that heat.  We will be looking into where to live, where to shop, what does it cost????   Lots of questions to answer.  I hope to have a few posts with pictures of our trip.

Photo from CNN

Photo from CNN, fog in Dubai

My week training has looked like this.

Monday: 30 min walk, treadmill at the gym, stretched for 25 min.  Lifting: regular warm up, squats 65#, 2x8reps and one set of 3, felt a bit of a strain, working on tight IT band…  ring-rows, 3 x 10; speed bench, 6×4 reps, 15# each hand; dumbbell cleans #20, 3×5 each arm; planks 2 x 1 min each, side plank, 30 sec each side. Never done sides before…not so easy!

Tuesday: 4 mile run, 50:13, average pace 12:32

Wednesday: spin bike at the gym, 25 min, stretch, plank x 2, side x 1; 10 situps.  First time on a bike in a while, sure uses different muscles!

Thursday:  4.59 miles, 1 hour 13 sec… 13:09 pace, in the snow, up hills, into the wind…just kidding, it really was fun!

Saturday is supposed to be sunny and “warm”, in the 50’s!!!!  Planning on 6 miles.

Hope you are having a great week!

Grandma cindy

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2013 4:30 am

    You’ll learn to run in the Dubai Mall… Early morning, no one there, and nice and cool. I practiced hiking at the Abu Dhabi Mall when working up to my walk on the Camino de Santiago… Walking sticks and loaded back pack. You’re going to LOVE it there!!

  2. March 8, 2013 4:30 am

    Oh, and if you miss the snow, you can go to the Mall of The Emirates in Dubai… They have Swiss chalets and indoor skiing 😀

    • March 8, 2013 2:16 pm

      Looking forward to the visit! Finding all the fun things to do, as well as where to live and shop…

  3. March 12, 2013 4:29 am

    You’ll enjoy the visit, I’m sure! Dubai has so much to offer expats. Will you be moving here for work?

  4. March 17, 2013 12:24 pm

    Are there any restrictions about women being out alone in Dubai? Good luck with your training, I am sorry you may not get to do your triathlons this year!

Leave a Reply

