Skip to content

Making Progress

April 24, 2013

On Monday I completed my last 10 mile run before the BMO Vancouver Half Marathon.  After 3 days rest I felt ready…It was a beautiful day in the mid 40’s.  The route is a nice one on not very busy roads, with lots of interesting houses and of course the woods, which are beginning to come alive again after the long winter!!

I am so happy to have my Garmin 405!  I know some runners feel a lack of freedom when running with a Garmin.  I often feel like why am I trying to keep track of my “plodding” at between 12 and 13 min. miles.  For some that is hardly running…for this soon to be (tomorrow) 59 year old runner it has been encouraging!!!

For example:  My 10 mile run on Monday…by mile 8 I was wondering if my hips would last another 2 miles…but when comparing the 10 miler I did in February I shaved 9 minutes off my time.  Did you read that….9 minutes!!!!!   And nearly a minute off my average pace time…Here is the proof…

My February stats:

Distance: 10.00 mi
Time: 2:19:53
Avg Pace: 13:59 min/mi
Elevation Gain: 369 ft
Calories: 990 C

My April stats:

Distance: 10.01 mi
Time: 2:10:10
Avg Pace: 13:00 min/mi
Elevation Gain: 371 ft
Calories: 1,105 C

So I guess even at 59 you can improve…

I am resting up and doing some shorter runs in the next week and a half!  Looking forward to visiting my daughter in Tacoma and seeing Vancouver again!!  Oh, and I will be wearing my Boston Strong t- shirt!

Have a great week.

Grandma Cindy

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2013 3:30 pm

    Wow! A big difference between the two… you should be excited!!! I hope you have the happiest of birthdays tomorrow… much love xoxoxoxo

  2. April 24, 2013 7:28 pm

    I like being able to compare earlier runs with current ones…especially if I’m going through a period of “I’m not getting faster/stronger/better” doubts. And I’ve gotten so bad about the Garmin that I feel nekkid when I forget it…lol.
    Happy Birthday tomorrow!

  3. April 24, 2013 8:18 pm

    Shaving 9 minutes off a 10-miler is like an early birthday gift – fantastic progress!

  4. April 25, 2013 4:32 pm

    Woot! Woot! Great job!!

  5. April 28, 2013 12:19 am

    That is awesome Cindy. You are going to rock the Half.

Leave a Reply

