Skip to content

Vacation and a Half Marathon

May 9, 2013

Well we arrived home on Tuesday night, picked up my granddaughter Sophia from her Auntie Rachel’s house.  Jack had surgery yesterday and I am happy to report he is doing great!!

photo 3

Smiling Jack

Our vacation was to the Northwest, my youngest daughter and her husband now live in Tacoma, Washington.  We had an awesome time touring Seattle, went to the top of Columbia Tower and the views…amazing.  We had some fantastic Cuban food at a little walk up place in a part of Seattle.   Went to the Public Market, got some fish to make fish tacos!  Yum!

IMG_2424

Early morning run at Chambers Bay, very hilly!!!!

IMG_1716

View from the Columbia tower, Seattle

IMG_1718

Paseo, Seattle, the best Cuban food ever!

IMG_1719

Busy public market

IMG_1744

I did not know fish had cheeks…

IMG_1751

Fish tacos at Andy and Alissa’s

Did I mention the weather?  It was sunny, no clouds in the sky the whole time we were there!!!!  We spent the day at Mt. Rainer.  For those who have never been to Tacoma, just about everywhere you drive you catch glimpses of the mountain, every time it comes into view it takes your breath away, it is HUGE!

IMG_1760

“The woods are lovely, dark and deep”…R. Frost

IMG_1762

The trees are huge, much bigger than in the East!!

IMG_1765

A short hike

IMG_1775

Mt. Rainer

IMG_1781

I love mountains!

IMG_1801

Gorgeous day

IMG_1817

More snow than I have ever seen

IMG_1821

Paradise Valley gets over 600 inches of snow a year, and these buildings are often covered to the dormers in snow…

IMG_2429

Dinner at Gig Harbor, Washington

Friday we went to Vancouver, BC, had a super time visiting friends, touring the city and then there was the half marathon!

IMG_2434

Here we come

IMG_2437

Alissa and me

IMG_1847

The view of the city and mountains, from Queen Elizabeth Park

IMG_1852

Views

Most of the weekend I was trying to overcome fears that I would not finish, or that I would hurt myself…I have had issues with my feet so the fears were not totally unfounded.  But, I am happy to report that I finished!!!

I hoped to run it in around 3 hours.  My official clock time was 3:04, which did not take into account the potty stop…my Garmin said 2:55.  So I am happy!!  The race was beautiful!  The first 2 + miles were downhill, with the city and mountains beyond in full view!  Ran through China Town and then out to the seawall, with the bay in view, then through the park, and back to the seawall!  I don’t think I have ever run a more beautiful course.  If you are up for a destination marathon or half, I highly recommend Vancouver!!!

IMG_2461

Plodding to the finish

IMG_2462

WE DID IT!!!

Resting up and taking a few days off.  It is funny how I was so looking forward to not running, yet, after 4 days I am itching to get out again.  Don’t think I will run long distances again, perhaps a 10K or two…now need to set my plan in order for the Timberman Sprint in August.

Have a great day!

Grandma Cindy

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2013 8:20 pm

    Glad you enjoyed your trip to my neck of the woods! If you liked Seattle, come visit Portland sometime! Great job finishing your half in your goal time.

  2. May 10, 2013 12:38 pm

    Cindy you look radiant!
    I loved the pix but would not want to deal with that much snow, ever!

    What a beautiful family 🙂
    *anna

  3. May 11, 2013 2:02 pm

    Glad all went well and you had a good race….congratulations!

  4. May 13, 2013 4:55 pm

    Great job! Beautiful pictures too. 🙂

  5. May 18, 2013 10:20 pm

    Woohoo! Great job. Thanks for sharing all those beautiful photos. I love the one of you in front of the snow! You look amazing! So happy. You are an inspiration.

  6. June 23, 2013 9:43 pm

    Awesome–I meant to comment on this, but I was in the throes of the end-of-semester crunch and going to see the very very pregnant step-daughter! 🙂
    SO PROUD OF YOU!
    And thanks for the tips.
    I meant to ask you,
    When do you move to Dubai? Is that still a go?

    • June 24, 2013 10:55 am

      Thanks, We are in the throes of selling house, packing up and will move into an apartment at the end of July…move in January. Crazy right now.

Leave a Reply

