Skip to content

Vacation

July 8, 2013

It has been a long time since my last posting…I think the “let down” after the Vancouver Half Marathon has lasted quite a while.  I suppose I could blame it on age…since the half, I have had no, NO motivation.  I spent all fall and winter training for the Half, and in some ways I think I wore my self out!  Over the last two months I have run a few times, biked a bit, and started swimming a couple of times a week.  Rather half hearted training.  The Timberman Triathlon is in August, just a bit over a month away.  I better get going!

I have shared before that we are moving to Dubai.  The process is moving along.  We put our house on the market via Craig’s List at the end of March, we really had no interest.  I did begin packing and sorting through 21 years of accumulated stuff…  The end of May we decided to list with a realtor, so more packing, staging, and cleaning…perhaps all this is what is sapping my motivation!  The house was listed on a Friday morning, our first showing was 5:30pm that day, by 8 Pm we had a full price offer…whew…how did that happen so fast.  We have two more weeks in our house after we return from vacation…kind of sad, but I am trying not to think about it too much.

Twenty one years in this house...

Twenty one years in this house…

Vacation has been tempered by Dad falling and breaking his hip.  He had surgery and it took him over a week to “wake up” from surgery.  He has been moved numerous time in the hospital and is now in rehab.  Awake, but still confused, needing to eat…if you think of it in your prayers and thoughts please remember him (Bill).

As for training…running I am starting from scratch I have done so little running in the past two months.  Went for a 15 mile ride the other day…swimming…today, open water swim, I think…  I am hoping that once we are done with the house I can turn my attention and time to training, I don’t want to go into this cold!

Sunset on Caroga Lake

Sunset on Caroga Lake

Have a great week,

Grandma Cindy

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2013 3:52 pm

    Oh my gosh you’ve been through a lot, my friend. Hang in there. That’s a LOT of changes.
    I will be thinking of your father. . . I wish you the best of luck in trying to find your center again.
    I am rooting for you!

  2. July 9, 2013 1:11 pm

    Cindy so sorry to hear about your dad…holding him, and you all in the light. Moving is a HUGE endeavor…keep as rested as humanly possible.
    *anna

Leave a Reply

