Skip to content

The road to Dubai

August 2, 2013

Roads, the roads of life, roads to the next town, roads to the beach, mountains, most roads are not straight, not perfectly surfaced, but get you to where you want to go.  Traveling on the roads can be pleasant, with lovely views, or can be past things you would rather not see.

Last December was the first indication that our road and view might be changing.  Opportunities for my husbands work in the Middle East, specifically Dubai came up.  We have for a few years now felt the urge to do something different, but, we really did not have a clue what or where.  It is a long story, and I won’t go into all the details, but the long and short of it is Dubai is where we are headed in January.

The road got a bit bumpy as of June 1st.  We listed the house on Friday, in the morning, a showing at 5:30pm yielded a full price offer by 8:30 that evening.  We closed on the house on July 31st…Bumpy in that we built that house, lived there for 21 years, raised our kids there, watched them go off to college, come home from college and each of our daughters walked down the steps in their wedding dresses.  MY house held so many memories for our family.  I walked out last Saturday evening and most likely will never see the inside again.  That was a big pot hole.  But, like most pot holes, they get filled in and fixed and pretty soon you don’t remember where it was exactly.

Twenty one years in this house...

Twenty one years in this house…

We are in our new digs, a one bedroom fully furnished, everything included apartment.  This apartment has teal, yes, TEAL leather recliner couches…ugly…but actually comfy.  The kitchen has granite counter tops and stainless appliances, which is all the rage!  I still can’t remember where I have put things, but lucky for me it is a small place!

 

We are here until sometime the first part of January when we will head off to Dubai to begin a new chapter of life.

Getting to Trigrandmatry and the blog.  Really I have two blogs, one for my business Bumblebee & Sophie and TGT.  It has been hard keeping up both…as many of you know who have one, finding time to post is slim to none sometimes.

I have one Triathlon coming up in two weeks,  I will muddle my way through it.  I have had so little time to train with all the packing and moving, but participate I will.  I have also been having some heel issues and just generally being tired.  All this will hopefully change now that we are moved.

Getting to the point… I am going to discontinue posting here and will be posting only to Bumblebeeandsophie.com , I do hope you will come on over and follow me there.  I will try to make it an all about life, which will include my sewing business, Trigrandmatry’s efforts and of course moving to Dubai!!!!

John and me

John and me

Take the next right…over the hill…next stop the desert!

Cheers,

Grandma Cindy

bumblebeeandsophie.com

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2013 9:28 pm

    I’ve really enjoyed this blog and will definitely add Bumblebee and Sophie to my blog reader, I think it came at some point.
    I can’t even imagine what it is like leaving this house that holds so many memories for you, makes me feel a little teary just thinking about it. I enjoyed my time staying with you guys and was so grateful for your hospitality.
    In looking forward to hearing about your adventures moving forward, if you ever have the opportunity to come London please let me know!

  2. August 3, 2013 1:38 am

    I also have really enjoyed this blog and will miss hearing about your training–but look forward to hearing about your new life in Dubai, as long as it lasts there. 🙂
    Good luck on your next triathlon!

  3. August 4, 2013 2:58 am

    FYI: one of my best friends is number 2 at the US Consulate in Dubai. 🙂

Leave a Reply

